IPU Logo
Inter-Parliamentary Union
For democracy. For Everyone


St Petersburg (Russian Federation), 14 - 18 October 2017

IPU Logo
Union Interparlementaire
Pour la démocratie. Pour tous.

Texts of speeches delivered in the General Debate
Textes des discours prononcés lors du débat général

The current list includes only those speeches that were forwarded by the respective delegations to the IPU Secretariat in English, French or Spanish in PDF format. Speeches in any other language will only be posted if they are accompanied by a courtesy translation into one of the official working languages of the IPU (English or French).

La présente liste n'inclut que les discours que les délégations ont envoyés au Secrétariat de l'UIP en anglais, en français ou en espagnol au format PDF. Les discours fournis dans une autre langue ne seront publiés que s'ils sont assortis d'une traduction de courtoisie dans au moins une deux langues de travail de l'UIP (anglais ou français)


Updated / mis à jour le : 30 November 2017
15 October 2017
(Opening session/ Séance d'ouverture)
Name / Nom Title / Titre Language versions / Langues
Ms. N. Al Kharoosi (Oman)

Second Vice-President of the Bureau of Women Parliamentarians / Deuxième Vice-Présidente du Bureau des femmes parlementaires

[English] [French]
Ms. M Osoru (Uganda)

President of the Board of the Forum of Young Parliamentarians / Présidente du Conseil du Forum des jeunes parlementaires

Ms. Rita Iszák Ndiaye

Member of the UN Committee on the Elimination of Racial Discrimination (CERD) / Membre du Comité pour l'élimination de la discrimination raciale des Nations unies (CERD)

His Holiness the Patriarch Kirill of Moscow and All Russia

Chair of the Commonwealth of Independent States Inter-Religious Council / Président du Conseil interreligieux de la Communauté des Etats indépendants

Mr. A. Othman Altwaijri

Director General of the Islamic Educational, Scientific and Cultural Organization / Directeur général de l’Organisation islamique pour l'éducation, les sciences et la culture

Presiding Officers of Parliament segment
Séance des présidents de parlement
No. * Name / Nom Coutry / Pays
or/ou organisation
Language / Langue
2 D. Syllouris Cyprus / Chypre [English]
9 N. Lammert Germany / Allemagne [English]
43 N. Nigmatulin Kazakhstan [English]
68 A. Farrugia Malta / Malte [English]
56 S. Kinga Bhutan / Bhoutan [English]
17 S. Ó Fearghaíl Ireland / Irlande [English]
27 S. Mahajan (Ms./Mme) India / India [English]
23 T.K.N. Nguyen (Ms./Mme) Viet Nam [English]
31 I. Sidibé  Mali [French]
34 M. Gojković (Ms./Mme) Serbia / Serbie [English]
52 T. Efua Asangono (Ms./Mme) Equatorial Guinea / Guinée équatoriale [Spanish]
30 W. Simina Micronesia (Federated States of) / Micronésie (Etats Fédéré de) [English]
36 M. Lohela (Ms./Mme) Finland / Finlande [English]
41 P. Katjavivi Namibia / Namibie [English]
14 B. Scotland Guyana / Guyane [English]
51 H. Sabbagh Syrian Arab Republic / République arabe syrienne [English]
63 P. Nyabenda Burundi [French]
64 J. Luveni (Ms./Mme) Fiji [English]
53 L. Kövér Hungary / Hongrie [English]
10 T. Xhaferi The former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia / Ex-République yougoslave de Macédoine [English]
First Speakers from delegations (non-Presiding Officers) and invited organizations
Premiers orateurs des délégations (hormis les présidents de parlement) et des organisations invitées
No. * Name / Nom Coutry / Pays
or/ou organisation
Language / Langue
67 Tep Ngorn Cambodia / Cambodge [English]
2 S. Errante (Ms./Mme) France [French]
33 H. Weninger Austria / Autriche [English]
11 P. Van Den Driessche Belgium / Belgique [English]
4 D. McGuinty Canada [English]
4 S. Popov Interparliamentary Assembly on Orthodoxy / Assemblée interparlementaire de l'orthodoxie [English]
18 G. Daudze Latvia / Lettonie [English]
19 D. Papadimoulis European Parliament / Parlement européen [English]
22 B. Sampatisiri (Ms./Mme) Thailand / Thaïlande [English]
25 M. Bonell (Ms./Mme) Andorra / Andorre [French]
37 M. Tašner Vatovec Slovenia / Slovénie [English]
38 M. Tomassoni San Marino / Saint-Marin [English]
42 F.M. Amoruso Parliamentary Assembly of the Mediterranean (PAM) / Assemblée parlementaire de la Méditerranée (APM) [English]
46 S. Yadamsuren Mongolia / Mongolie [English]
50 S.H. Soeharto (Ms./Mme) Global Organization of Parliamentarians against Corruption / Organisation mondiale des parlementaires contre la corruption (GOPAC) [English]
53 I. Macdonald Australia / Australie [English]
59 L. Barría Panama [Spanish]
64 M. Triantafyllou (Ms./Mme) Greece / Grèce [English]
69 J. Viana Brazil / Brésil [English]
35 B. Charlier International Committee of the Red Cross (ICRC) / Comité international de la Croix-Rouge (CICR) [English]
Second speakers from delegations
Seconds orateurs des délégations
No. * Name / Nom Coutry / Pays
or/ou organisation
Language / Langue
3 M. Nagamootoo Guyana /Guiane [English]
10 C. Ketter Australia / Australie [French]
11 M. Mularoni (Ms./Mme) San Marino / Saint-Marin [English]
* As on the list of speakers distributed in the room / Selon la liste des orateurs, telle que distribuée dans la salle

Note: Documents in PDF format require / Les documents au format PDF nécessitent Adobe Acrobat Reader Get Acrobat Reader