Association of Secretaries General of Parliaments
Situation as of May 2003  

Review "Constitutional and Parliamentary Information" The Association of Secretaries General of Parliaments (ASGP), constituted as a consultative body of the Inter-Parliamentary Union, seeks to facilitate personal contacts between holders of the office of Secretary General in any parliamentary assembly, whether such assembly is a member of the IPU or not. ASGP membership is thus independent of the IPU.

It is the task of the Association to study the law, procedure, practice and working methods of different Parliaments and to propose measures for improving those methods and for securing co-operation between the services of different Parliaments. The Association also assists the Inter-Parliamentary Union, when asked to do so, on subjects within the scope of the Association. It functions in accordance with its own Rules and Working Methods.

List of Members (PDF)  
Working Methods  
Chronology of Reports  
Studies and Discussions  
Minutes of the last session (PDF)  
The Association produces studies and comparative reports, most of which regularly appear in the specialized publication of ASGP called "Constitutional and Parliamentary Information". This biannual review is published in English and French and can be ordered from Mr. Frédéric Slama, ASGP Co-Secretary. For further details, see "Periodicals" page at this site. A chronological list of ASGP reports and a list of recent studies and discussions can be found on two separate pages at this site.


Secretaries General or Clerks of parliamentary assemblies in the following countries or international institutions are Members of the Association:

Albania, Algeria, Andorra, Angola, Argentina, Armenia, Australia, Austria, Bangladesh, Belarus, Belgium, Benin, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Botswana, Brazil, Bulgaria, Burkina Faso, Cambodia, Cameroon, Canada, Cape Verde, Central African Republic, Chile, China, Colombia, Congo, Côte d'Ivoire, Croatia, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Denmark, Djibouti, Dominican Republic, Ecuador, Egypt, Equatorial Guinea, Estonia, Ethiopia, Fiji, Finland, France, Gabon, Germany, Ghana, Greece, Guatemala, Guinea, Guinea-Bissau, Guyana, Haiti, Hungary, Iceland, India, Indonesia, Iraq, Ireland, Israel, Italy, Japan, Jordan, Kenya, Korea (Democratic People's Republic of), Korea (Republic of), Kuwait, Lebanon, Lesotho, Liberia, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Madagascar, Malawi, Malaysia, Mali, Malta, Mauritania, Mauritius, Mexico, Monaco, Mongolia, Morocco, Mozambique, Namibia, Nepal, Netherlands, New Zealand, Nicaragua, Niger, Nigeria, Norway, Pakistan, Panama, Papua New Guinea, Peru, Philippines, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Russian Federation, Rwanda, Samoa, Sao Tome and Principe, Senegal, Slovenia, South Africa, Spain, Sri Lanka, Sudan, Suriname, Sweden, Switzerland, Syrian Arab Republic, United Republic of Tanzania, Thailand, The former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia, Togo, Tunisia, Turkey, Uganda, Ukraine, United Arab Emirates, United Kingdom, United States of America, Uruguay, Venezuela, Vietnam, Yugoslavia, Zambia, Zimbabwe, Council of Europe, European Parliament, Union of Belarus and the Russian Federation, Western European Union.

You can download the complete list of members in PDF format.

President:Mr. Ian Harris (Australia)
Vice-Presidents:Mr. Anders Forsberg (Sweden)
Ms. Hélène Ponceau (France)
Elected members: Mr. Mohammad Al-Masalha (Jordan)
Mr. Mario Farachio (Uruguay)
Mr. Carlos Hoffmann Contreras (Chile)
Ms. Emma Lirio Reyes (Philippines)
Mr. Ibrahim Salim (Nigeria)
Mr. Prosper Vokouma (Burkina Faso)
Former Presidents:Ms. Adelina Sa Carvalho (Portugal)
Sir Michael Davies (United Kingdom)
Mr. Jacques Ollé-Laprune (France)
Mr. S.L. Shakdher (India)
Mr. Jean Lyon (France)
Ms. Helge Hjortdal (Danemark)
Mr. Wolter Koops (Netherlands)
Sir K. Bradshaw (United Kingdom)
Mr. Charles Lussier (Canada)
Mr. Takis Hadjioannou (Chyprus)
Mr. Doudou Ndiaye (Senegal)

Mr. Frédéric Slama
Service des Relations internationales
Assemblée nationale
126 rue de l'Université
75355, Paris 07 SP
Tel: (33) 1 40 63 84 41
Fax: (33) 1 40 63 89 49
Mr. Roger Phillips
Table Office
House of Commons
London SW1A 0AA
United Kingdom
Tel: (44) 20 7219 3303
Fax: (44) 20 7219 5568

IPU Home pageMain areas of activityStructure and functioningQuick searchFeedback