Case n° CO/11 - Julio Acosta Bernal
Case n° CO/12 - Alonso Acosta Osio
Case n° CO/13 - Rafael Acosta
Case n° CO/14 - Pablo Emiro Agámez
Case n° CO/15 - F. Luis Almario Rojas
Case n° CO/16 - José G. Alvarado R.
Case n° CO/17 - Javier Alvarez M.
Case n° CO/18 - Jaime Arango Pedraza
Case n° CO/19 - Alvaro Araújo C.
Case n° CO/20 - Oscar Arias C.
Case n° CO/21 - José Aristides Andrade
Case n° CO/22 - Julio Bahamón V.
Case n° CO/23 - Orlando Beltrán C.
Case n° CO/24 - Eduardo M. Benítez
Case n° CO/25 - Jairo Berrío
Case n° CO/26 - Nubia Brand H.
Case n° CO/27 - Guillermo Brito G.
Case n° CO/28 - Tomás Caicedo H.
Case n° CO/29 - Helí Cala López
Case n° CO/30 - Lázaro Calderón G.
Case n° CO/31 - José A. Carvajal M.
Case n° CO/32 - Isabel Celis Yáñez
Case n° CO/33 - Juan José Chaux M.
Case n° CO/34 - Jairo Chavarriaga W.
Case n° CO/35 - Micael Cotes Mejía
Case n° CO/36 - Colin Crawford
Case n° CO/37 - Ciro Crispín L.
Case n° CO/38 - Alfredo Cuello Dávila
Case n° CO/39 - Martha Daniels G.
Case n° CO/40 - José Dávila Armenta
Case n° CO/41 - Justo Guzmán N.
Case n° CO/42 - Miguel De La Espriella
Case n° CO/43 - Tomás Devia Lozano
Case n° CO/44 - Luís Duque García
Case n° CO/45 - Ramón Elejalde A.
Case n° CO/46 - Eduardo Enriquez M.
Case n° CO/47 - Yolima Espinosa
Case n° CO/48 - Julio Gallardo A.
Case n° CO/49 - Jairo Ganen Buelvas
Case n° CO/50 - Albino García F.
Case n° CO/51 - Franklin García R.
Case n° CO/52 - Jesús García V.
Case n° CO/53 - Guillermo Gaviria Z.
Case n° CO/54 - Jorge Gómez Celis
Case n° CO/55 - Jorge Góngora A.
Case n° CO/56 - José Oscar González G.
Case n° CO/57 - Jaime González M.
Case n° CO/58 - Rafael Guzmán N.
Case n° CO/59 - Barlahán Henao H.
Case n° CO/60 - Fernando Hernández V.
Case n° CO/61 - Germán Huertas C.
Case n° CO/62 - Oscar Celio Jiménez
Case n° CO/63 - Octavio Z. Jaramillo Z.
Case n° CO/64 - Harold León B.
Case n° CO/65 - José Linas R.
Case n° CO/66 - Alfonso López Cossio
Case n° CO/67 - Jorge Lozano O.
Case n° CO/68 - Carlos Lucio Lopez
Case n° CO/69 - José R. Ricaurte A.
Case n° CO/70 - José Maya Burbano
Case n° CO/71 - José Maya Garcia
Case n° CO/72 - Juan J. Medina Barrios
Case n° CO/73 - M. Mejía Marulanda
Case n° CO/74 - Zulia Mena García
Case n° CO/75 - Jorge Mendieta P.
Case n° CO/76 - Eliécer Meneses L.
Case n° CO/77 - Ernesto Mesa Arango
Case n° CO/78 - Heyne Mogollón M.
Case n° CO/79 - Julio Mora Acosta
Case n° CO/80 - Norberto Morales B.
Case n° CO/81 - Viviane Morales H.
Case n° CO/82 - Roberto Moya Ángel
Case n° CO/83 - Jorge Olaya Lucena
Case n° CO/84 - Graciela Ortíz De M.
Case n° CO/85 - Alvaro N. Ordóñez V.
Case n° CO/86 - Rubén Orozco P.
Case n° CO/87 - Carlos Oviedo Alfaro
Case n° CO/88 - Tarquino Pacheco C.
Case n° CO/89 - Américo Peláez C.
Case n° CO/90 - Emma Peláez F.
Case n° CO/91 - Roberto Pérez Santos
Case n° CO/92 - Jorge Pérez Alvarado
Case n° CO/93 - Tito Pérez Pérez
Case n° CO/94 - Carlos Pineda G.
Case n° CO/95 - Antonio Pinillos A.
Case n° CO/96 - Evelio Ramírez M.
Case n° CO/97 - Lorenzo Rivera H.
Case n° CO/98 - Miguel Roa Vanegas
Case n° CO/99 - Carlina Rodríguez
Case n° CO/100 - Julio César Rodríguez
Case n° CO/101 - Salomón Saade A.
Case n° CO/102 - Franco Salazar B.
Case n° CO/103 - Dario Saravia Gómez
Case n° CO/104 - Luís Serrano Silva
Case n° CO/105 - Juan Silva Haad
Case n° CO/106 - Fernando Tello D.
Case n° CO/107 - Jaime Torres E.
Case n° CO/108 - Édgar Torres M.
Case n° CO/109 - Luís Valencia Díaz
Case n° CO/110 - Agustín Valencia
Case n° CO/111 - Mario Varón Olarte
Case n° CO/112 - Francisco Velásquez B.
Case n° CO/113 - William Velez Mesa
Case n° CO/114 - Augusto Vidal P.
Case n° CO/115 - Basilio Villamizar T.
Case n° CO/116 - Hernando Zambrano
Case n° CO/117 - Zoraida Zamorano L.
Case n° CO/118 - R. Zapata Múñoz
Case n° CO/119 - Octavio Zapata R.

Resolution adopted without a vote by the Inter-Parliamentary Council
at its 164th session (Brussels, 16 April 1999)

The Inter-Parliamentary Council,

Referring to the outline of the case, as contained in the report of the Committee on the Human Rights of Parliamentarians (CL/164/13(b)-R.1), and to the resolution adopted at its 163rd session (September 1998) concerning the case of the above-mentioned incumbent and former parliamentarians of Colombia,

Recalling that the 109 persons concerned were all members of the former House of Representatives sitting from 1994 to 1998, of whom 47 were re-elected in 1998,

Recalling that in February 1996 the House of Representatives was seized of a complaint of the Prosecutor General (Fiscalía General de la Nación) against the then President of the Republic, Dr. Ernesto Samper Pizano seeking, in conformity with the Constitution, its consent to the institution of judicial proceedings against him; that, after having conducted an investigation, the House of Representatives, on 12 June 1996, by a vote of 111 representatives for and 43 against, decided in favour of a preclusion of the investigation against President Samper,

Recalling that individuals lodged complaints in the Supreme Court of Justice against those who had voted for and those who had voted against the preclusion of the investigation; that on 26 June 1998, two years after the filing of those complaints, the Supreme Court decided to exculpate the minority who had voted against the preclusion of the investigation and to pursue the investigation regarding those who had voted in its favour,

Recalling that some MPs concerned lodged a petition with the Constitutional Court regarding their prosecution; considering that, in autumn 1998, the Court ruled in their favour and that the proceedings against all MPs concerned have consequently been dropped,

  1. Notes with satisfaction that the prosecution against the former and incumbent members of Parliament concerned has been abandoned, thus ensuring respect for one of the basic principles of parliamentary democracy, parliamentary non-accountability, which protects members of Parliament from any form of prosecution for all acts carried out in performance of their parliamentary duties thereby enabling them to discharge their mandate without fear of any retaliatory measures on account of their opinions expressed and votes cast;
  2. Decides consequently to close the case.

Note: you can download a complete electronic version of the brochure "Results of the 101st Conference and related meetings of the Inter-Parliamentary Union" in PDF format (file size approximately 570K). This version requires Adobe Acrobat Reader, which you can download free of charge.Get Acrobat Reader

Human rights of parliamentarians | Home page | Main areas of activity | Structure and functioning