Parliamentary Chamber: Consell general


<<< Return to the Historical Archive page of parliamentary election results for ANDORRA <<<

  Consell general

Dates of elections / renewal (from/to):

  16 February 1997

Purpose of elections:

  Elections were held for all the seats of the Parliament following the premature dissolution of this body on 1 January 1997. General elections had previously been held in December 1993.

Background and outcome of elections:

  Following the previous (December 1993) general elections, Parliament expressed a vote of no-confidence in the Head of Government, Mr. Oscar Ribas Reig (National Democratic Grouping - AND) in November 1994 in opposition to his proposed budget and tax legislation. Mr. Ribas Reig thereupon immediately resigned and was succeeded by Mr. Marc Forné Molne, leader of the Liberal Union (UL), who headed a minority Government until 1 January 1997 - the date of the premature dissolution of Parliament ; this dissolution had been suggested by the opposition forces.

During the campaign, both the UL and the AND promised to consider allowing more foreign investment in the country and to introduce income taxes ; these issues dominated the pre-election debate. On polling day, the UL swept to victory with 16 of the 28 legislative seats to 6 for the AND. On 21 March, Mr. Forné was re-elected Head of Government, obtaining 18 votes.

Round no 1 (16 February 1997): Elections results  
Number of registered electors 10,837
Voters 8’842 (81.6%)
Blank or invalid ballot papers 459
Valid votes 8,383

Round no 1: Distribution of votes  
Political Group Votes national % national Votes constituencies
Liberal Union (UL) 3543 42 3057
National Democratic Grouping (AND) 2374 28 417
New Democracy (ND) 1471 17 0
National Democratic Initiative (IDN) 993 11 0
Unio del Poble d’Ordino (UPO) 0 0 255

Round no 1: Distribution of seats  
Political Group Total Gain/Loss
Liberal Union (UL) 16 +11
National Democratic Grouping (AND) 6 -2
New Democracy (ND) 2 -3
National Democratic Initiative (IDN) 2 =
Unio del Poble d’Ordino (UPO) 2 =

  Following alliances, the distribution by parliamentary group was as follows:
  • Liberal Group (GL): 18
  • National Democratic Grouping (AND): 6
  • Mixed group: 4
  • Distribution of seats according to sex:  
    Men: 26
    Women: 2
    Percent of women: 7.14

    Distribution of seats according to age:  
    31-40 years 16
    41-50 years 6
    51-60 years 6

    Distribution of seats according to profession:

    Company directors 8
    Liberal professions 8
    Teachers 5
    Engineers and architects 3
    Others 4

    <<< Return to the Historical Archive page of parliamentary election results for ANDORRA <<<

    Copyright © 1997 Inter-Parliamentary Union