Parliamentary Chamber: Azgayin Joghov


<<< Return to the Historical Archive page of parliamentary election results for ARMENIA <<<

  Azgayin Joghov

Dates of elections / renewal (from/to):

  5 July 1995
29 July 1995

Purpose of elections:

  Elections were held for all the seats in Parliament on the normal expiry of the members' term of office.

Background and outcome of elections:

  General elections for the former 260-member Supreme Soviet had taken place in August 1990, prior to the break-up of the former USSR and the achievement of independence in September 1991. In April 1995, an Electoral Law was adopted to regulate polling for the new National Assembly. The elections - scheduled the same day as a constitutional referendum, which met with approval - were held on a multi-party basis.

Approximately 1500 candidates from 13 parties or groups contested the 190 seats at stake. Prominent among these was the pro-government Republican Bloc coalition comprising six parties and led by the ruling Pan-Armenian National Movement (HHsh). A total of 10 parties (including the important Dashnaktsutyun group) were denied registration due to improper applications. Main issues during the generally peaceful campaign concerned the economy and foreign relations, especially the conflicting situation with neighbouring Azerbaijan. In these sectors, President of the Republic Levon Ter-Petrossian - in office since October 1991 - had battled the country's ailing economy with tough reforms and a free-market orientation, and a generally pro-Western foreign policy.

Polling day was monitored by observers from the OSCE (Organization for Security and Co-operation in Europe) and the Council of Europe, who expressed some doubts about the fairness of the procedures used. Opposition parties, for their part, protested the results as announced by the Central Electoral Commission and alleged irregularities. A second round of voting took place on 29 July in 23 constituencies where the required majority had not been attained outright. The Republican Bloc emerged as the overall winner with 119 seats.

On 24 July, President Ter-Petrossian reappointed Mr. Hrand Bagratian as Prime Minister and two days later the composition of the reshuffled Cabinet was announced. The newly elected Assembly convened on 27 July.

Round no 1 (5 July 1995): Elections results  
Number of registered electors 2,189,804
Voters 1,217,531 (55.6%)

Round no 1: Distribution of votes  
Political Group Votes Proportional % Proportional
Republican Bloc 329,300 42.66
Shamiram Women’s Party 130,252 16.88
Communist Party 93,353 12.10
National Democratic Union 57,966 7.51
National Self- Determination Union 42,987 5.57
Armenian Liberal - Democratic Party (Ramkavar) 19,437 2.52
Scientific-Industrial and Civil Union 9,940 1.29
Armenian Revolutionary Party (Dashnaktsutyun) - -
Independents - -

Round no 1: Distribution of seats  
Political Group Total Proportional Majority
Republican Bloc 119 20 99
Shamiram Women’s Party 8 8 0
Communist Party 7 6 1
National Democratic Union 5 3 2
National Self- Determination Union 3 3 0
Armenian Liberal - Democratic Party (Ramkavar) 1 0 1
Scientific-Industrial and Civil Union 1 0 1
Armenian Revolutionary Party (Dashnaktsutyun) 1 0 1
Independents 45 0 45

Distribution of seats according to sex:  
Men: 178
Women: 12

Distribution of seats according to age:  
18-20 years 0
21-30 years 6
31-40 years 72
41-50 years 86
51-60 years 16
61-70 years 10

Distribution of seats according to profession:

Public or party officials 175
Commerce or industry 44
Teachers 11
Lawyers 7
Journalists 7
Doctors 6
Others 20

  total exceeds the number of Deputies as some of them are listed in several categories

<<< Return to the Historical Archive page of parliamentary election results for ARMENIA <<<

Copyright 1995 Inter-Parliamentary Union