Parliamentary Chamber: National Assembly


<<< Return to the Historical Archive page of parliamentary election results for BOTSWANA <<<

  National Assembly

Dates of elections / renewal (from/to):

  7 October 1989

Purpose of elections:

  Elections were held for all the popularly chosen members of Parliament on the normal expiry of their term of office.

Background and outcome of elections:

  The 1989 National Assembly elections were held simultaneously with those for district and town councils.

The ruling Botswana Democratic Party (BDP), led by President of the Republic Quett Masire, was once again mainly challenged by the Botswana National Front (BNF), headed by Dr. Kenneth Koma. During the campaign, the BDP stressed its record of positive economic achievements and political stability. Altogether seven parties fielded candidates.

On polling day, a large number of voters gave the BDP a landslide fifth successive general election victory since independence in 1966, raising its Assembly total by two to 31 seats. The opposition BNF captured the three other popularly-chosen seats.

On 10 October, President Masire was sworn in for a third five-year term. Three days later, he announced the composition of his reshuffled Cabinet.

Round no 1 (7 October 1989): Elections results  
Number of registered electors 367,069
Voters 250,487

Round no 1: Distribution of votes  
Political Group Candidates Votes %
Botswana Democratic Party (BDP) 34 162,277 64.78
Botswana National Front (BNF) 33 67,513 26.95
Botswana People’s Party (BPP) 11 10,891 4.34
Others 8 9,806 3.91

Round no 1: Distribution of seats  
Political Group Total
Botswana Democratic Party (BDP) 31
Botswana National Front (BNF) 3
Botswana People’s Party (BPP) 0
Others 0

  Only Popularly-Elected Members

Distribution of seats according to sex:  
Men: 38
Women: 2

<<< Return to the Historical Archive page of parliamentary election results for BOTSWANA <<<

Copyright 1989 Inter-Parliamentary Union