Parliamentary Chamber: Narodno Sobranie


<<< Return to the Historical Archive page of parliamentary election results for BULGARIA <<<

  Narodno Sobranie

Dates of elections / renewal (from/to):

  10 June 1990
17 June 1990

Purpose of elections:

  Elections were held for all the seats in Parliament following the premature dissolution of this body in March 1990. General elections had previously been held in June 1986.

Background and outcome of elections:

  The 1990 general elections came in the wake of comprehensive political and economic reforms in November 1989, constitutional amendments and adoption of a new Electoral Law in late March 1990. The dates for the first multiparty polling in more than 40 years were then announced.

As a result of these changes, a total of 37 parties, coalitions and movements fielded candidates for the 400 parliamentary seats. There was an average of seven candidates per seat under the majority system, and eight under the proportional representation system.

The electoral campaign was marred by some violence. Nominations were receivable until 10 May. Polling day procedures were observed by foreign teams; voter turnout was high. Of the 200 majority vote seats, 119 were filled in the first round and 81 in the second. The Bulgarian Socialist Party (formerly the Bulgarian Communist Party) emerged as the overall winner after the two polling days, capturing an absolute majority of 211 seats to 144 for the main opposition Union of Democratic Forces (UDF). Five other parties gained parliamentary representation. Primary support for the Socialists, led by Mr. Alexander Lilov, came from rural areas, whereas Sofia, the capital, was the stronghold of the UDF alliance, headed by Mr. Zhelyu Zhelev. The Chairman of the Council of Ministers is Mr. Andrei Lukanov.

Round no 1 (June 1990): Elections results  
Number of registered electors 6,990,372
Voters 6,333,334 (90.6%)
Blank or invalid ballot papers 208,833
Valid votes 6,124,501

Round no 1: Distribution of seats  
Political Group Total Proportional Majority
Bulgarian Socialist Party 211 97 114
Union of the Democratic Forces 144 75 69
Movement for Rights and Freedoms 23 12 11
Bulgarian Agrarian People’s Union 16 16 0
Fatherland Union 2 0 2
Fatherland Party of Labour 1 0 1
Social Democratic Party 1 0 1
Independents 2 0 2

Distribution of seats according to sex:  
Men: 366
Women: 34

Distribution of seats according to profession:

Jurists 66
Engineers, architects 63
Economists 43
Physicians 32
Philologists 18
Journalists 13
Historians 13
Philosophers 12
Writers, poets 11
Mathematicians 10
Diplomats 9
Agronomists 8
Sociologists 5
Military 4
Artists 4
Actors 4
Others 85

<<< Return to the Historical Archive page of parliamentary election results for BULGARIA <<<

Copyright 1990 Inter-Parliamentary Union