Parliamentary Chamber: Assemblée nationale


<<< Return to the Historical Archive page of parliamentary election results for CAMEROON <<<

  Assemblée nationale

Dates of elections / renewal (from/to):

  30 June 2002

Purpose of elections:

  Elections were held for all the members of the National Assembly on the normal expiry of the members' term of office.

Background and outcome of elections:

  On 30 June 2002, more than 4.5 million citizens went to the polls to vote in the dual legislative and municipal elections. For the first time, voters had to pick the 180 members of the National Assembly along with the municipal councillors for the country's 336 communes.

Elections were initially scheduled for 23 June 2002. On that date, however, the lack of electoral material in polling stations in some electoral districts led to a one-week postponement and the sacking of the Minister of Territorial Administration (Interior).

The electoral campaign opened on 8 June, with 42 political parties in the running for the legislative elections, and 26 for the municipal elections, many more than in the last municipal elections in 1996 and the last legislative elections in 1997. Municipal elections were due to be held in 2001, but municipal councillors had their term of office prolonged by one year.

The UN Secretary-General's Special Envoy for Elections, former Côte d'Ivoire Prime Minister Mr. Seydou Elimane Diarra, and observers from the African Union and the International Organization of French-speaking Countries hailed the climate of tranquillity that characterised the dual elections.

A few opposition political parties as well as one party of the presidential majority, the National Union for Democracy and Progress (NUDP), called for the nullification of the elections and lodged various petitions with the Supreme Court. The latter ruled on 17 July 2002, nullifying election results in nine electoral districts on account of various irregularities, such as the falsification of statements by the administrative authorities, fraudulent entries on electoral lists or the presence of ineligible persons on a list of candidates. By-elections were held on 15 September 2002 to fill the 17 seats left vacant further to these decisions.

The official results showed that the ruling Cameroon People's Democratic Movement (CPDM) had won an overwhelming majority with 149 seats. The main opposition party, the Social Democratic Party lost ground winning only 22 seats as against 43 in the outgoing House. The National Union for Democracy and Progress picked up only one seat, the remaining seats going to two others opposition parties, the Cameroon democratic Union and the Cameroon People's Union.

On 8 August 2002, Mr. Cavaye Yeguié Djibril (CPDM) was re-elected Speaker of the National Assembly.


Round no 1: Distribution of seats  
Political Group Total
Cameroon People's Democratic Movement (CPDM) 149
Social Democratic Front (SDF) 22
Cameroon Democratic Union (UDC) 5
Cameroon People's Union (UPC) 3
National Union for Democracy and Progress (UNDP) 1

Distribution of seats according to sex:  
Men: 164
Women: 16
Percent of women: 8.89

<<< Return to the Historical Archive page of parliamentary election results for CAMEROON <<<

Copyright © 2002 Inter-Parliamentary Union