Parliamentary Chamber: Majlis Al-Chaab


<<< Return to the Historical Archive page of parliamentary election results for EGYPT <<<

  Majlis Al-Chaab

Dates of elections / renewal (from/to):

  29 November 1990
6 December 1990

Purpose of elections:

  Elections were held for all the elective seats in Parliament following the premature dissolution of this body decided by popular referendum on 11 October 1990. The normal term of the dissolved Assembly was to end in June 1991.

Background and outcome of elections:

  On 11 October 1990, premature dissolution of the People’s Assembly was approved by popular referendum. This vote was called for by President of the Republic Hosni Mubarak after an earlier ruling by the Supreme Constitutional Court that the 458-seat Parliament was unlawful because the rules leading to its election were unconstitutional. By law, a new election was due within 60 day of the referendum..

Contesting Parliament’s 444 elective seats were the ruling National Democratic Party (NDP), the National Democratic Unionist Party, the Khudr Party and the liberal Al-Umma Party. Boycotting the poll were the main opposition Al-Wafd Party, Socialist Labour Party and Socialist Liberal Party, which claimed that the reformed Electoral Law failed to guarantee free elections. Many members of these latter groups ran as independents.

The six-week campaign was generally marked by a great number (some 2,700, but less women this time) of candidates and parties’ wide access to the mass media. The first round of voting resulted in the outright election of 183 Deputies; polling thus took place for the remaining 261 seats on 6 December – the second round of voting. Final figures gave the centrist NDP a resounding victory (85% of the vote), as it increased its overall parliamentary majority while independents obtained 16%of the vote and raised their Assembly total by some 50 seats.

The 26-member Council of Ministers is headed by Prime Minister Atif Sidqi.

Round no 1: Elections results  
Number of registered electors 16,326,229
Voters 7,253,168 (44.42%)
Blank or invalid ballot papers 350,186
Valid votes 6,902,982

Round no 1: Distribution of seats  
Political Group Total
National Democratic Party (NDP) 386
National Democratic Unionist Party 5
Independents 57

  Plus six vacancies.

Distribution of seats according to sex:  
Men: 444
Women: 10

Distribution of seats according to profession:

Workers 163
Farmers 71
Others 220

<<< Return to the Historical Archive page of parliamentary election results for EGYPT <<<

Copyright 1990 Inter-Parliamentary Union