Parliamentary Chamber: Cámara de Représentantes del Pueblo


<<< Return to the Historical Archive page of parliamentary election results for EQUATORIAL GUINEA <<<

  Cámara de Représentantes del Pueblo

Dates of elections / renewal (from/to):

  21 November 1993

Purpose of elections:

  Elections were held for all seats in Parliament following the normal expiry of the members’ term of office in July 1993.

Background and outcome of elections:

  On July 1993, President of the Republic Teodoro Obiang Nguema Mbasogo announced that parliamentary elections would be held on 12 September. This poll would be the first on a multiparty basis to take place in the country. The main opposition parties protested and announced that they would not take part in the elections because of the Government’s refusal to reform the Electoral Law and revise the electoral registers under international supervision. As a result of these protests, the elections were postponed to 21 November.

Seven of the country’s legalised political parties, including the Democratic Party of Equatorial Guinea (PDGE), the former sole party, ultimately registered candidates. The election campaign, which lasted from 6 to 20 November, was marked by heightened tension between the Government and the opposition parties, the latter accusing the former of intimidating their members and banning their rallies. Leaders of opposition parties which had called for a boycott of the elections were prohibited from leaving the island of Bioko (where the capital is located) for the mainland to campaign for the boycott. Some were even banned from leaving the country.

Prior to the elections, several countries, including the United Sates, France and Spain, criticised the manner in which they were being organised and refused to send observers. According to diplomatic and opposition sources, the turnout was very low. The Joint Opposition Platform (POC), an alliance of eight opposition parties that had called for a boycott, claimed that the abstention rate had been as high as 80%. The Spanish Foreign Minister stated that the elections had been lacking in the minimum requirements for them to have been free and fair. This opinion was shared by various other observers.

The official results were announced on 2 December and showed that the ruling PDGE had won an overwhelming majority of 68 seats out of a total of 80. Three other parties shared the remaining 12 seats-

On 21 December, President Obiang Nguema Mbasogo reappointed incumbent Prime Minister Silvestre Siale Bileka and, on 22 December, the latter announced a Cabinet of 38 members, all of whom from the PDGE.


Round no 1: Distribution of seats  
Political Group Total
Democratic Party of Equatorial Guinea (PDGE) 68
People’s Social Democratic Convergence (CSDP) 6
Social Democratic Union (UDS) 5
Liberal Party (PL) 1

Distribution of seats according to sex:  
Men: 73
Women: 7

<<< Return to the Historical Archive page of parliamentary election results for EQUATORIAL GUINEA <<<

Copyright © 1993 Inter-Parliamentary Union