Parliamentary Chamber: Assemblée nationale


<<< Return to the Historical Archive page of parliamentary election results for GABON <<<

  Assemblée nationale

Dates of elections / renewal (from/to):

  9 December 2001

Purpose of elections:

  Elections were held for all the seats in the National Assembly on the normal expiry of the members' term of office.

Background and outcome of elections:

  Nearly 600,000 voters went to the polls on 9 and 23 December 2001 to choose the 120 members of the National Assembly. Some ten opposition parties had challenged the elections, announcing an "active boycott". They complained over irregularities in the registration of voters and lack of preparedness of the Ministry of Interior responsible for organizing the elections. The two rounds of legislative elections went smoothly despite a slow start and a few incidents in the strongholds of the radical opposition.

Turnout was normal for the country as a whole but lower than usual in the big cities, where the abstention rate hit a record 80 per cent.

The international observers from the International Organisation of French-speaking Communities, who monitored both rounds, noted "shortcomings with regard to organisational arrangements and mistakes on voting lists that were not corrected between the two rounds". They also reported that electoral equipment had been stolen or destroyed in three districts in the south of the country.

According to the official results, the ruling Gabonese Democratic Party (PDG), which had only just missed an absolute majority in the first round of 9 December with 53 candidates elected, picked up 31 more seats in the second round.

Father Paul Mba Abessole, leader of the National Rally of Woodcutters (RNG/RPG), and mayor of the capital city, Libreville, was elected for his first term as a member of Parliament. His party obtained six seats, as in 1996. The Gabonese Progress Party (PGP) won three seats as against eight in 1996. Independent candidates did almost as well as the opposition, taking 11 seats.

The members of the new National Assembly were officially sworn in in January 2002.

Round no 1 (9 December 2001): Elections results  
Number of registered electors 596 431
Voters (44 %)

Round no 1: Distribution of seats  
Political Group Total
Gabonese Democratic Party (PDG) 85
National Rally of Woodcutters (RNB) 6
Gabonese Progress Party (PGP) 3
Social Democratic Party 2
People's Unity Party 1
Independents 11
Others 11

  Elections did not take place in certain areas as a result of the Ebola epidemic, which accounts for the lower number of seats.

Distribution of seats according to sex:  
Men: 108
Women: 11
Percent of women: 9.24

<<< Return to the Historical Archive page of parliamentary election results for GABON <<<

Copyright © 2001 Inter-Parliamentary Union