Parliamentary Chamber: Assemblée nationale


<<< Return to the Historical Archive page of parliamentary election results for GABON <<<

  Assemblée nationale

Dates of elections / renewal (from/to):

  16 September 1990
21 October 1990
28 October 1990

Purpose of elections:

  Elections were held for the 111 elective seats in Parliament following the national conference held in March/April 1990 (see below).

Background and outcome of elections:

  The road of the general elections was paved by the convening, in March/April 1990, of a national conference which approved the immediate establishment of a multiparty system and the formation of a new Government.

On 7 August, the polling dates were set for 16 and 23 September. Two days later, the Council of Ministers issued a communiqué saying that the elections should provide an opportunity for wide debates on various issues. The campaign officially opened on 16 August. For the first time since 1968, the ruling Parti démocratique gabonais (PDG) was opposed for the 120 Assembly seats; the contestants included 13 legalized groups, independents and 553 candidates in all. Besides the PDG, foremost parties were the Rassemblement national des bûcherons (woodcutters), LED BY Father Paul Mba Abessole, the Parti gabonais du progrès (PGP) and the Mouvement de redressement (regeneration) national (MORENA). Besides calling for genuine political plurality, they focused on the economic sector, the Bûcherons (a MORENA breakaway faction) advocating liberalization, a renewed investment programme and development of rural zones as a way of alleviating social unrest.

The first round of voting on 16 September was disrupted by protests of the electorate, which claimed electoral fraud to favour the PDG. Results in 32 of the 120 constituencies were thereupon annulled and the second round (due a week later) suspended after the Government acknowledged certain irregularities. Prime Minister Casimir Oyé-Mba announced that 58 Deputies had been declared elected; 36 of these belonged to the PDG, 14 to the Bûcherons.

Following the two rescheduled October rounds, the final outcome gave to the PDG 63 seats, the Bûcherons 20 and the PGP 18. Eight different parties gained Assembly representation. Two days after he had tendered the resignation of his transitional Government, Prime Minister Mba, on 21 November, was reappointed by President of the Republic (since 1967) Omar Bongo. On 26 November, the composition of a Council of Ministers of national unity was announced; it comprised members of the PDG and five opposition parties.

Round no 1: Elections results  
Number of registered electors 600,000 (approx.)

Round no 1: Distribution of seats  
Political Group Total
Parti démocratique gabonais (PDG) 63
Rassemblement national des bûcherons* 20
Parti gabonais du progrès (PGP) 18
Mouvement de redressement national (MORENA) 7
Association pour le socialisme au Gabon (APSG) 6
Union socialiste gabonaise (USG) 4
Cercle pour le renouveau et le progrès (CRP) 1
Union pour la démocratie et le développement Mayumba 1

  * MORENA breakaway faction.

<<< Return to the Historical Archive page of parliamentary election results for GABON <<<

Copyright © 1990 Inter-Parliamentary Union