Parliamentary Chamber: Chambre des Députés


<<< Return to the Historical Archive page of parliamentary election results for HAITI <<<

  Chambre des Députés

Dates of elections / renewal (from/to):

  25 June 1995
17 September 1995

Purpose of elections:

  Polling was held for all (83) seats in the Chamber of Deputies. General elections had previously taken place in December 1990 and January 1991.

Background and outcome of elections:

  General elections for the bicameral Parliament had previously been held in December 1990/January 1991, when Fr. Jean-Bertrand Aristide was also elected President of the Republic. In September 1991, a military coup led to his exile until October 1994. Elections were scheduled for December before being postponed twice for "technical reasons", finally being set by the Provisional Electoral Council (CEP) in early April 1995. On 17 February, a new Electoral Law had been promulgated.

The campaign which opened on 24 April was generally peaceful but somewhat disorganised, marked by the disappearance of thousands of voters' cards. Prominent issues related to the economy (privatisation, free-market reforms) and democratic political reforms. Polling day (25 June) - on which more than 2000 regional and local posts were also filled - was monitored by thousands of United Nations peacekeeping forces and went off in confusion but, according to the hundreds of foreign observers (especially from the OAS), in largely free and fair conditions. Opposition groups, however, alleged voter manipulation favouring the ruling parties and widespread irregularities.

On 13 August, the first round was repeated in all districts with no declared winners. The postponed second round for seven Senate and 56 Deputies' seats, which finally took place on 17 September, was marked by a low turnout and major opposition boycott. According to final results as announced by the CEP, the Lavalas movement - a three-party coalition endorsed by President Aristide - captured an overwhelming majority of the votes and contested seats (17 of 18 in the Senate, 68 of 83 in the Chamber of Deputies). This populist alliance - led by the Lavalas Political Organization (OPL) - topped the centre-left National Front for Change and Democracy (FNCD) coalition to which the President had formerly been affiliated and which had triumphed at the previous general elections.

On 13 October, Prime Minister Smarck Michel resigned. On 17 December, Mr. René Préval was elected President to succeed Fr. Aristide.

Round no 1 (25 June 1995): Elections results  
Number of registered electors 3,668,049
Voters 1,140,523 (31.09 %)

Round no 1: Distribution of seats  
Political Group Total
Political platform Lavalas 68
National Front for Change and Democracy (FNCD) 2
National Committee of the Congress of Democratic Movements (KONAKOM) 1
National Koumbite Movement (MKN) 1
Revolutionary Progressive Nationalist Party (PANPRA) 1
Democratic Christian Rally (RDCH) 1
Others 9

  The Political platform Lavalas is formed by:
  • Lavalas Political Oganization (OPL)
  • Movement for the Organization of the Country
  • Louvri Baryé Party
  • Distribution of seats according to sex:  
    Men: 80
    Women: 3

    <<< Return to the Historical Archive page of parliamentary election results for HAITI <<<

    Copyright © 1995 Inter-Parliamentary Union