Parliamentary Chamber: Mazhilis


<<< Return to the Historical Archive page of parliamentary election results for KAZAKHSTAN <<<


Dates of elections / renewal (from/to):

  9 December 1995
23 December 1995
4 February 1996

Purpose of elections:

  Elections were held for all the seats of the Mazhilis provided for in the new Constitution of August 1995.

Background and outcome of elections:

  In March 1994, the first post-independence general elections for the former unicameral Parliament took place. A year later, Kazakstan's Constitutional Court invalidated this poll and declared the legislature illegal. President of the Republic Narsultan Nazarbayev thereupon announced the dissolution of the Parliament and plans to rule by decree pending new elections. A majority of the 177 Deputies challenged the dissolution.

On 30 August 1995, a new Constitution providing, inter alia, for a smaller bicameral legislature was approved by popular referendum. On 2 October, the President announced the December election dates. The overall conduct of the polling was overseen by the Central Election Commission (CEC). According to it, 285 candidates (128 self-nominated, 157 registered to parties or public associations) ran for the 67 Mazhilis seats. As for the Senate, 49 candidates vied for the 40 elective seats, with 14 of the 20 constituencies being uncontested. There were a series of limitations on pre-election campaigning.

The 9 December polling day for the Mazhilis was monitored by domestic and international observers and saw a reported turnout of over 79%. Observers from the OSCE questioned this figure, citing a number of irregularities, including multiple voting by the same individual. At the end of the day, only 41 candidates were declared elected with the required thresholds. Two weeks later, on 23 December, another 13 Deputies were chosen. Finally, on 4 February 1996, the remaining 13 seats were filled. Of the opposition parties, many boycotted the poll.

On 30 January, the newly-constituted Parliament met in joint session for the first time. The Council of Ministers is headed by Prime Minister Akezhan Kazhegeldin.

Round no 1 : Elections results  
Number of registered electors 8,860,897
Voters 7,153,443 (80.73%)
Blank or invalid ballot papers 101,701
Valid votes 7,051,742
Round no 2 : Elections results  
Number of registered electors 3,308,897
Voters 2,519,733 (76.15%)
Blank or invalid ballot papers 16,248
Valid votes 2,503,485

Round no 1: Distribution of seats  
Political Group Total
Kazakstan National Unity Party 11
Democratic Party 7
Communist Party 2
Socialist Party 1
National Co-operative Party of Kazakstan 1
National Congress Party of Kazakstan 1
Independents 44

Distribution of seats according to sex:  
Men: 58
Women: 9

<<< Return to the Historical Archive page of parliamentary election results for KAZAKSTAN <<<

Copyright 1995 Inter-Parliamentary Union