Parliamentary Chamber: Landtag


<<< Return to the Historical Archive page of parliamentary election results for LIECHTENSTEIN <<<


Dates of elections / renewal (from/to):

  3 March 1989
5 March 1989

Purpose of elections:

  Elections were held for all the seats in Parliament following premature dissolution of this body on 23 January 1989. General elections had previously been held in January/February 1986.

Background and outcome of elections:

  In December 1988, seven members of the Progressive Citizens' Party (FBP) walked out of the 15-member Parliament over an art museum issue, and Crown Prince Hans Adam prematurely dissolved the Landtag the next month, calling general elections for March 1989.

Contesting the enlarged Landtag's 25 seats were the two traditional rivals, both monarchist and conservative: the FBP and the Fatherland Union (VU). They were led by Prime Minister Hans Brunhart and Mr. Herbert Wille, respectively.

On polling day, the VU won 13 seats and the FBP 12. However, both lost votes to two new political groups, the Free Voters' List and the "‹berparteiliche Liste", which both nearly gained the 8% of votes cast required for parliamentary representation.

For the second time, a woman was elected to the Landtag (it will be recalled that female suffrage was granted in July 1984); she belongs to the FBP. On 24 May, Mr. Brunhart, head of the VU/FBP coalition Government since 1978, was reappointed to this office by the Landtag.

Round no 1 (3 and 5 March 1989): Elections results  
Number of registered electors 13,307
Voters 12,094 (90.88%)
Blank or invalid ballot papers 137
Valid votes 11,957

Round no 1: Distribution of votes  
Political Group Candidates Votes %
Fatherland Union (VU) 25 75,417 47.15
Progressive Citizen's Party (FBP) 25 67,382 42.13
Free Voters' List 13 12,090 7.56
"‹berparteiliche Liste" 7 5,061 3.16

Round no 1: Distribution of seats  
Political Group Total
Fatherland Union (VU) 13
Progressive Citizen's Party (FBP) 12
Free Voters' List 0
"‹berparteiliche Liste" 0

  10 seats added since last elections.

Distribution of seats according to sex:  
Men: 24
Women: 1

Distribution of seats according to profession:

Civil servants, teachers 10
Employees 6
Doctors, jurists, fiduciaries 5
Businessmen, craftsmen 4

<<< Return to the Historical Archive page of parliamentary election results for LIECHTENSTEIN <<<

Copyright © 1989 Inter-Parliamentary Union