Parliamentary Chamber: Antenimieram-Pirenena - Assemblée nationale


<<< Return to the Historical Archive page of parliamentary election results for MADAGASCAR <<<

  Antenimieram-Pirenena - Assemblée nationale

Dates of elections / renewal (from/to):

  16 June 1993

Purpose of elections:

  Elections were held for all the seats in the new National Assembly provided for in the Constitution of August 1992. Elections had previously been held in May 1989 but the People’s National Assembly had been suspended in December 1991 and formally dissolved in February 1992.

Background and outcome of elections:

  Following the second round of presidential elections in February 1993, in which Mr. Albert Zafy beat incumbent President of the Republic Didier Ratsiraka, parliamentary elections were announced for 5 May and subsequently postponed to 16 June. These elections were intended to mark an end to a transitional period which had been characterized by political turmoil since multiparty politics were instituted in March 1990.

The elections were held against a background of demands, mainly by supporters of former President Ratsiraka, for the establishment of a federal system of government. As a result of these demands, the two-week electoral campaign was marred by violence and several persons, including candidates, were reportedly killed. Some 4000 candidates were fielded for the 138 seats by a total of 121 parties and organizations. The front runners were the Comité des forces vives (Living Forces) alliance of President Zafi, the Rally for Social Democracy (RPSD) and the Movement for Proletarian Power (MFM). Although Mr. Ratsiraka’s Avant-garde pour le redressement économique et social did not field any candidates, many were presented by parties or organizations affiliated to this body.

The elections witnessed a high abstention rate ranging from 30 to 40%. This low turnout was generally ascribed to voter apathy due to the fact that this was the fourth time the Malagasy electorate was going to the polls in 10 months.

The results showed that president Zafy’s Comité des forces vives and allied parties that had supported him during the presidential election had won a majority in the new National Assembly, securing a total of 75 seats.

In accordance with the Constitution, Mr. Francisque Ravony of the Comité des forces vives was designated Prime Minister on 9 August by the newly elected Parliament. The Cabinet was appointed on 27 August.

Round no 1 (16 June 1993): Elections results  
Number of registered electors 6,000,000 (approx.)
Voters 60% (approx.)

Round no 1: Distribution of seats  
Political Group Total
Comité des forces vives* 46
Movement for Proletarian Power (MFM) 15
Leader-Fanilo 13
Famima 11
Fihaonana* 8
Rally for Social Democracy (RPSD) 8
AKFM-Fanavoazana (Congress Party for Malagasy Independence – Renewal)* 5
National Union for Development and Democracy (UNDD) – Rasalama Active Forces 5
Farimbona* 2
Committee supporting the Development of Democracy in Madagascar (CSDDM)* 2
Accord* 2
Fivoarana 2
Rasalama Active Forces – Teachers and Educators* 1
GRAD-Iloafo* 1
Vatomizana* 1
Others 10

  * Parties in the new legislature supporting the Government.
Plus four vacancies.

<<< Return to the Historical Archive page of parliamentary election results for MADAGASCAR <<<

Copyright © 1993 Inter-Parliamentary Union