Parliamentary Chamber: Antenimieram-Pirenena - Assemblée nationale


<<< Return to the Historical Archive page of parliamentary election results for MADAGASCAR <<<

  Antenimieram-Pirenena - Assemblée nationale

Dates of elections / renewal (from/to):

  17 May 1998

Purpose of elections:

  Elections were held for all the seats in the National Assembly for the first time since June 1993. The Assembly's four-year term had been extended in July 1997.

Background and outcome of elections:

  General elections were previously held in June 1993, and were thus normally due four years later. However, in July 1997, the High Constitutional Court extended the Deputies’ term and postponed the poll by 10 months so as to allow for the issuance of obligatory identity cards to all voters. The election date was finally set in April 1998.

Campaigning for the enlarged National Assembly’s 150 seats (up from 138) began on 2 May and was generally peaceful. A record number of approximately 3500 candidates - including many independents, more women and young people - were in contention. Of the 151 registered parties, only two contested all constituencies; they were the Vanguard of the Malagasy Revolution (AREMA) and the Leader Fanilo group, both members of the outgoing ruling coalition led by President of the Republic Didier Ratsiraka and Prime Minister Pascal Rakotomavo. Some opposition parties boycotted the poll.

On election day, AREMA emerged on top with 63 seats as eight other groups gained representation; independent candidates captured 32 seats. On 23 July, President Ratsiraka appointed Mr. Tantely Andrianarivo as Prime Minister; the new Council of Ministers was formed on 31 July.

Round no 1 (17 May 1998): Elections results  
Number of registered electors 6,000,000 (approx.)

Round no 1: Distribution of seats  
Political Group Total
Vanguard of the Malagasy Revolution (AREMA) 63
Leader-Fanilo 16
"One should be judged by One's Works (AVI) 14
Rally for Social Democracy (RPSD) 11
Asa Fahamarinana Fampandrosoana Arindra (AFFA) 6
Movement for Madagascar Progress (MFM) 3
Congress Party for Madagascar Independence (AKFM) - Renewal 3
Action and Réflexion Group for the Development of Madagascar (GRAD) - Iloafo 1
Fihaonana 1
Independents 32

Distribution of seats according to sex:  
Men: 138
Women: 12

<<< Return to the Historical Archive page of parliamentary election results for MADAGASCAR <<<

Copyright © 1998 Inter-Parliamentary Union