Parliamentary Chamber: Ulsyn Ikh Khural


<<< Return to the Historical Archive page of parliamentary election results for MONGOLIA <<<

  Ulsyn Ikh Khural

Dates of elections / renewal (from/to):

  29 July 1990
26 August 1990

Purpose of elections:

  Elections were held for all the seats in Parliament in the country’s first poll under the multiparty system. General elections had previously taken place in June 1986.

Background and outcome of elections:

  The 1990 polling dates - for Hurals at national, provincial and municipal levels - were set on 14 May. The elections were preceded by an extraordinary congress of the ruling Mongolian People’s Revolutionary Party (MPRP) in April 1990, at which the general secretary, Mr. G. Ochirbat, reported on urgent tasks for deepening the restructuring and renewal of the party. At its own congress the same month, the main opposition Mongolian Democratic Party (MDP) stressed its aim to democratise all public organizations and reform the country’s political system, as well as to develop private ownership of property. Altogether 2,413 candidates were nominated for the 430 Great People’s Hural seats. Five official parties, as well as independents, ultimately challenged the MPRP (communist). It will be recalled that, in March 1990, Parliament removed from the Constitution mention of the leading role of the MPRP, until the Mongolia’s sole political organization.

On 22 July, preliminary polling took place in 238 of the 430 election districts in order to narrow the field of candidates to two per constituency. The voter turnout was reportedly 92.4%.

Following the two polling days - 29 July and 26 August, the latter necessitated by the fact that in 24 constituencies no candidate had received the minimum vote - the MPRP emerged with a comfortable majority while independents captured 38 seats. Voting procedures were monitored by foreign observers, including teams from the USA and USSR. They deemed the elections generally free and fair.

Of the Baga Hural membership, approximately 60% belong to the MPRP and 40% to other parties, with the average age of the members being a relatively young 39 years. Given these overall results, the MPRP announced that it would consider forming a coalition Government with the opposition. On 3 September, the newly elected Parliament held its first session and chose Mr. P. Ochirbat as Mongolia’s first President of the Republic. Mr. R. Gonchigdorj was elected Vice-President and thus ex-officio Chairman of the Baga Hural. The new Prime Minister is Mr D. Byambasuren; he heads a 15 member Cabinet, which was confirmed in October/November.

Round no 1: Elections results  
Number of registered electors 1,027,000 (approx.)
Voters 98% (approx.)

Round no 1: Distribution of seats  
Political Group Total
Mongolian People’s Revolutionary Party (MPRP) 357
Mongolian Democratic Party (MDP) 16
Mongolian Youth Organization 9
Mongolian National Progressive Party (NPP) 6
Mongolian Social Democratic Party (SDP) 4
Independents 38

Distribution of seats according to sex:  
Men: 421
Women: 9

Distribution of seats according to profession:

Representatives of the intelligentsia and office employees 274
Members of agricultural co-operatives 120
Workers 6

  Data on remaining Deputies unavailable.

<<< Return to the Historical Archive page of parliamentary election results for MONGOLIA <<<

Copyright 1990 Inter-Parliamentary Union