Parliamentary Chamber: Majliss-annouwab


<<< Return to the Historical Archive page of parliamentary election results for MOROCCO <<<


Dates of elections / renewal (from/to):

  25 June 1993

Purpose of elections:

  Elections were held for 222 seats of the House of Representatives. Parliamentary elections had previously been held in September and October 1984, and the House’s term was extended beyond the date of its normal expiry.

Background and outcome of elections:

  Following a constitutional referendum in September 1992, it was announced on 25 November that parliamentary elections would be held on 30 April 1993. These elections should have been held in October 1990 upon the expiry of the normal term of the House of Representatives, but were postponed several times, and the term of the House extended, mainly because of preparations for a referendum on Western Sahara and another one on a revised Constitution. The elections were subsequently postponed to 25 June in response to demands by the political parties which thought the political atmosphere should be less tense before any free and fair elections could take place.

The main contenders were the Istiqlal and the Socialist Union of Popular Forces (USFP), which fielded common candidates under the Democratic Bloc banner, as well as the governing parties, the Constitutional Union (UC) and the National Rally of Independents (RNI). A total of 2,042 candidates were fielded, representing 11 parties and including 167 independents, 33 women and 155 outgoing Deputies. The two-week election campaign, which was marred by scattered violence, saw the various contenders focusing mainly on the country’s social and economic problems, intensified by global recession and two years of drought; they promised to promote economic growth and take steps to increase jobs and foster the well-being of Moroccans in general. Candidates also stressed the need to combat corruption. Several televised debates were held and all the candidates reportedly received equitable coverage by the public media.

The polling resulted in a relative victory of the opposition alliance of the centre-left USFP and the nationalist Istiqlal, which won a total of 91 seats. They were followed by the Berber Popular Movement, with the UC, headed by Mr. Maati Bouabid, and RNI, led by Mr. Ahmed Osman, not performing as well as they had done during the previous elections. The results also saw women (two from the opposition) being elected for the first time to Parliament. Despite some accusations of electoral malpractices, voting procedures were reportedly largely fair.

The new Parliament – which is expected to have a stronger voice than its predecessor, in accordance with the constitutional revisions approved in September 1992 – was scheduled to convene on 7 October after the remaining 111 members had been indirectly elected on 17 September.

Round no 1 (25 June 1993): Elections results  
Number of registered electors 11,398,987
Voters 7,153,211 (62.75%)
Blank or invalid ballot papers 930,993
Valid votes 6,222,218

Round no 1: Distribution of votes  
Political Group Candidates
Socialist Union of Popular Forces (USFP)* 108
Istiqlal Party* 113
Popular Movement 183
National Rally of Independents (RNI) 217
Constitutional Union (UC) 210
National Democratic Party (PND) 202
National Popular Movement (MNP) 200
Party of Progress and Socialism (PPS)* 216
Democratic Party for Independence (PDI) n.a.
Action party (PA) n.a.
Organisation of Democratic and Popular Action (OADP)* 169
Independents 167

Round no 1: Distribution of seats  
Political Group Total Gain/Loss
Socialist Union of Popular Forces (USFP)* 48 +3
Istiqlal Party* 43 +19
Popular Movement 33 +2
National Rally of Independents (RNI) 28 -11
Constitutional Union (UC) 27 -29
National Democratic Party (PND) 14 -1
National Popular Movement (MNP) 14 +14
Party of Progress and Socialism (PPS)* 6 +4
Democratic Party for Independence (PDI) 3 +3
Action party (PA) 2 +2
Organisation of Democratic and Popular Action (OADP)* 2 +1
Independents 2 +2

  * Members of the “Democratic Bloc”

Distribution of seats according to sex:  
Men: 220
Women: 2

<<< Return to the Historical Archive page of parliamentary election results for MOROCCO <<<

Copyright 1993 Inter-Parliamentary Union