Parliamentary Chamber: National Assembly


<<< Return to the Historical Archive page of parliamentary election results for NAMIBIA <<<

  National Assembly

Dates of elections / renewal (from/to):

  7 December 1994
8 December 1994

Purpose of elections:

  Elections were held for all the seats in the National Assembly on the normal expiry of the members’ term of office.

Background and outcome of elections:

  The 1994 parliamentary elections – held simultaneously with those for President of the Republic – were the first since independence was attained in March 1990. It will be recalled that the Constituent Assembly chosen in November 1989 continued in office as the country’s first national Parliament.

For the 72 Assembly seats, the main opposition to the ruling South-West African People’s Organisation (SWAPO), which evolved out of the guerrilla resistance movement against the old South African apartheid administration, was provided by the Democratic Turnhalle Alliance (DTA) Six other parties were also in the running.

On a polling day marked by a good turnout and monitored by some 80 foreign observers, the social-democratic SWAPO swept to a landslide legislative victory, gaining 11 seats over its previous total to arrive at 53 – more than the two-thirds majority required for amending the Constitution. DTA came in a distant second, as it did in the presidential race where the incumbent Sam Nujoma of SWAPO won another five-year term over Mr. Mishake Muyongo.

DTA alleged irregularities in the voting process and claimed that SWAPO’s support was mainly an ethnic one coming from the northern regions of the country. Analysts, however, regarded ethnicity as a secondary factor to the electorate’s continued positive identification of SWAPO as the liberation movement which brought about independence.

In the wake of the polling, President Jujoma announced that any constitutional changes contemplated by SWAPO would also be submitted for public approval by referendum. The make-up of the reshuffled Cabinet was announced on 20 March; it continues to be headed by Prime Minister Hage Geingob.

Round no 1 (7 and 8 December 1994): Elections results  
Number of registered electors 654,189
Voters 497,499 (75.05%)
Blank or invalid ballot papers 7,863
Valid votes 489,636

Round no 1: Distribution of votes  
Political Group Votes %
South-West African People’s Organisation (SWAPO) 361,800 73.89
Democratic Turnhalle Alliance (DTA) 101,748 20.78
United Democratic Front of Namibia (UDF) 13,309 2.72
Democratic Coalition of Namibia (DCN) 4,058 0.83
Monitor Action Group (MAG) 4,005 0.82
South West African National Union of Namibia (SWANU) 2,598 0.53
Federal Convention of Namibia 1,166 0.24
Worker’s Revolutionary Party 952 0.19

Round no 1: Distribution of seats  
Political Group Total Gain/Loss
South-West African People’s Organisation (SWAPO) 53 +1
Democratic Turnhalle Alliance (DTA) 15 -6
United Democratic Front of Namibia (UDF) 2 -2
Democratic Coalition of Namibia (DCN) 1 n.a.
Monitor Action Group (MAG) 1 n.a.
South West African National Union of Namibia (SWANU) 0 n.a.
Federal Convention of Namibia 0 -1
Worker’s Revolutionary Party 0 n.a.

Distribution of seats according to sex:  
Men: 59
Women: 13

<<< Return to the Historical Archive page of parliamentary election results for NAMIBIA <<<

Copyright 1994 Inter-Parliamentary Union