Parliamentary Chamber: Assemblée nationale


<<< Return to the Historical Archive page of parliamentary election results for NIGER <<<

  Assemblée nationale

Dates of elections / renewal (from/to):

  14 February 1993

Purpose of elections:

  Elections were held to fill all the seats in a new National Assembly to replace the High Council of the Republic, which had exercised legislative power during the transitional period following the dissolution of the previous National Assembly in August 1991. The last general elections were held in December 1989.

Background and outcome of elections:

  A National Conference was held between July and November 1991 during which the 1989 Constitution was suspended, President of the Republic Ali Saibou stripped of most his executive powers and the National Assembly and Government dissolved. In October 1991, Mr. Amadou Cheiffou was appointed Prime Minister of a transitional government. Legislative power was to be exercised by the High Council of the Republic (HCR). The transitional period was to end on 31 March 1993 with the presidential election.

The parliamentary elections, the first multiparty polling to be held since the country gained independence in 1960, was initially scheduled for 19 December 1992 but then postponed several times, following the adoption by referendum of a new Constitution on 26 December 1992. Voting took place against the background of an ailing economy with a lot of unrest among workers and the military. The Touareg rebellion in the north of the country was raging on.

Some 600 candidates were fielded for the 83 seats by 12 of the 18 legalized parties, including the National Movement for a Development Society (MNSD), the former single party. The one-month electoral campaign was conducted without any major incident although no candidate was able to campaign in the north as a result of the Touareg rebellion. All the parties had free and fair air time on State television and radio.

The polling was monitored by some 200 foreign observers and marked by massive participation, largely attributed to the fact that the female electorate, which accounted for 52% of the total was able to vote without any inhibitions, as opposed to the case of the referendum where men had voted on behalf of their wives.

Final results gave the MSND a relative majority of 29 seats. However, on 16 February, nine political parties formed an alliance – the Alliance of the Forces of Change (AFC) – in order to obtain a working parliamentary majority; together, they obtained a total of 50 seats. This was bitterly criticized by the MNSD, which claimed that the alliance had been formed mainly to settle old scores. There followed mutual accusations of electoral fraud.

Presidential elections took place subsequently, on 27 February and 20 March, and saw the victory of Mr. Mahamane Ousmane of the Social Democratic Convention (CDS). On 17 April, he appointed Mr. Mahamadou Issoufou of the Niger Party for Democracy and Socialism (PNDS) as Prime Minister under a power-sharing agreement reached with the other AFC parties before the second round of voting. The Cabinet was announced six days later.

Round no 1 (14 February 1993): Elections results  
Number of registered electors 4,000,000 (approx.)
Voters 56% (approx.)

Round no 1: Distribution of seats  
Political Group Total
National Movement for a Development Society (MNSD) 29
Social Democratic Convention (CDS)* 23
Niger Alliance for Democracy and Progress (ANDP)* 12
Niger Party for Democracy and Socialism (PNDS)* 11
Niger Progressive Party-African Democratic Assembly faction (PPN-RDA) 2
Democratic Union of Progressive Forces (UDFP) 2
Union of Democratic and Progressive Patriots (UPDP) 2
Niger Social Democratic Party (PSDN)* 1
Union for Democracy and Social Progress (UDPS)* 1

  * Members of the AFC alliance.

Distribution of seats according to sex:  
Men: 78
Women: 5

Distribution of seats according to profession:

Teachers 23
Civil servants 16
Businessmen, traders 15
Engineers, technicians 13
Agricultural sector 4
Military, police officers 3
Others 9

<<< Return to the Historical Archive page of parliamentary election results for NIGER <<<

Copyright © 1993 Inter-Parliamentary Union