Parliamentary Chamber: National Parliament


<<< Return to the Historical Archive page of parliamentary election results for PAPUA NEW GUINEA <<<

  National Parliament

Dates of elections / renewal (from/to):

  13 June 1992
27 June 1992

Purpose of elections:

  Elections were held for all the seats in Parliament on the normal expiry of the members’ term of office.

Background and outcome of elections:

  Following the previous (June-July 1987) general elections, Prime Minister Paias Wingti (People’s Democratic Movement - PDM) was defeated in a parliamentary vote of no confidence in July 1988 and was succeeded by the leader of the opposition Pangu (Papua Guinea Unity) Pati (PP), Mr. Rabbie Namaliu, at the head of a new coalition Government comprising members of PP and five (subsequently four) minor parties.

Writs for the 1992 general election were issued on 19 March and nominations was receivable until 24 April. Altogether 1653 candidates contested the 109 parliamentary seats. The campaign was dominated by alleged corruption in official circles, including a number of MPs. Heading a three-party opposition alliance, Mr. Wingti vowed, if elected, to carry out a thorough investigation of all corruption charges. On other issues, he promised to revive the country’s moribund agricultural economy and encourage the growth of the manufacturing industry, to provide free education and reduce taxes, and to take a “more open” approach in the Government’s negotiations with secessionist rebels on the island of Bougainville.

On a relatively peaceful polling day marked by a high turnover rate of the parliamentarians, PP won the most seats (22) of any party despite having 15 of its outgoing Ministers lose. The opposition coalition (PDM, People’s Progress Party and Melanesian United Front) for its part captured a total of 26 seats. Some of the 30 candidates elected as independents were expected to align themselves with one of the represented parties.

On 17 July, the newly chosen legislators elected Mr. Wingti Prime Minister over Mr. Namaliu by a 55 to 54 margin, the decisive vote having been cast by the Speaker.


Round no 1: Distribution of seats  
Political Group Total Gain/Loss
Pangtu Pati 22 -4
People’s Democratic Movement (PDM) 15 -3
People’s Action Party (PAP) 13 +7
People’s Progress Party (PPP) 10 +5
Melanesian Alliance (MA) 9 +2
League of National Advancement (LNA) 5 +2
National Party (NP) 2 -10
Melanesian United Front (MUF) 1 -3
Others 1 -3
Independents 30 +8

  Plus one vacancy.

<<< Return to the Historical Archive page of parliamentary election results for PAPUA NEW GUINEA <<<

Copyright 1992 Inter-Parliamentary Union