Parliamentary Chamber: Assemblée nationale


<<< Return to the Historical Archive page of parliamentary election results for SENEGAL <<<

  Assemblée nationale

Dates of elections / renewal (from/to):

  9 May 1993

Purpose of elections:

  Elections were held for all the seats in Parliament on the normal expiry of the members’ term of office.

Background and outcome of elections:

  Breaking with practice, the parliamentary elections were not held on the same day as the presidential election. The latter had taken place on 21 February 1993.

The main challenge to the ruling Socialist Party (PS) of the President of the Republic Abdou Diouf came from its traditional rival, the Senegalese Democratic Party (PDS) headed by Mr. Abdoulaye Wade. The opposition groups as a whole had earlier announced their intention to present common candidates but these plans fell through as a result of partisan rivalries. In all, 1222 candidates were presented by six political parties or coalitions of parties.

The run-up to the polls was characterised by political tension in the wake of the presidential elections and an upsurge in violence in the Casamance region where there were pressing demands for autonomy. Economic issues also figured prominently in debates during the three-week campaign. The polling, however, took place in a calm atmosphere, although under heavy military supervision in the Casamance. Turnout was low, standing at 40.74%, down from the 51.46% recorded during the presidential election. Final results saw the PS maintaining its absolute majority in parliament although it lost 19 seats. The PDS improved its parliamentary strength by 10, earning a total of 27 seats. Four other parties or coalitions of parties entered the National Assembly for the first time, sharing the remaining seats. The official results were challenged by the opposition, especially the PDS, which claimed that it had won more seats than allotted to it. There followed mutual accusations of fraud. The situation was further worsened by the assassination, on 15 May, of the vice-president of the Constitutional Council, which was to validate the election results. Mr. Wade and some of his aides were called in for questioning and later release.

On 3 June, a new Government was formed, with Mr. Habib Thiam maintaining in his post as Prime Minister. It included leading members of three opposition parties. The PDS, which had been a member of the previous Government formed after the February 1988 elections, was absent this time.

Round no 1 (9 May 1993): Elections results  
Number of registered electors 2,650,000 (approx.)
Voters 1,070,539 (40.74%)
Blank or invalid ballot papers 5,957
Valid votes 1,064,582

Round no 1: Distribution of votes  
Political Group Votes %
Socialist Party (PS) 602,171 56.56
Senegalese Democratic Party (PDS) 321,585 30.21
Jappoo Liggeeyal Senegal coalition 52,189 4.90
Democratic League-Labour Party Movement (LD-MPT) 43,950 4.13
Independence and Labour Party (PIT) 32,348 3.04
Senegalese Democratic Union-Renovation (UDS-R) 12,339 1.16

Round no 1: Distribution of seats  
Political Group Total Proportional Majority
Socialist Party (PS) 84 40 44
Senegalese Democratic Party (PDS) 27 21 6
Jappoo Liggeeyal Senegal coalition 3 3 0
Democratic League-Labour Party Movement (LD-MPT) 3 3 0
Independence and Labour Party (PIT) 2 2 0
Senegalese Democratic Union-Renovation (UDS-R) 1 1 0

Distribution of seats according to sex:  
Men: 106
Women: 14

<<< Return to the Historical Archive page of parliamentary election results for SENEGAL <<<

Copyright © 1993 Inter-Parliamentary Union