Parliamentary Chamber: National Parliament


<<< Return to the Historical Archive page of parliamentary election results for SOLOMON ISLANDS <<<

  National Parliament

Dates of elections / renewal (from/to):

  26 May 1993

Purpose of elections:

  Elections were held for all the seats in Parliament on the normal expiry of the members’ term of office.

Background and outcome of elections:

  Following the previous (February 1989) general elections, Prime Minister Solomon Mamaloni (People’s Alliance Party – PAP) resigned as leader of his party in October 1990. He thereupon declared that he would remain in office as an independent and dismissed several members of the Cabinet, replacing them mostly with opposition figures. Demands by many MPs for Mr. Mamaloni’s resignation were refused. In early 1991, by establishing a coalition Government and dividing the opposition and the ruling party, the Prime Minister’s action was widely interpreted as a return to national political traditions based on personalities rather than organised groups.

The country’s economic situation grew steadily worse during 1991, and in November the Solomon Islands Council of Trade Unions issued an ultimatum demanding Mr. Mamaloni’s resignation. The opposition (under the leadership of Mr. Joses Tuhanuku of the Solomon Islands Labour Party) for its part attacked the Government, accusing it of failing to acknowledge the extent of the country’s financial difficulties. Altogether a record number of 280 candidates contested the enlarged Parliament’s 47 (increased from 38) seats.

On polling day, the Group for National Unity and Reconciliation – founded in 1993 to contest the elections and led by the incumbent Prime Minister – won 21 seats, falling short of an overall majority. PAP headed the remaining contenders with a total of seven.

On 18 June, the newly elected legislature convened and elected Mr. Francis Billy Hilly as Prime Minister by 24 votes to 23 for Mr. Mamaloni. The former was supported by members of the National Coalition Partners, the opposition coalition formed after the elections to challenge Mr. Mamaloni and his party.


Round no 1: Distribution of seats  
Political Group Total
Group for National Unity and Reconciliation 21
People’s Alliance Party (PAP) 7
National Action Party of Solomon Islands 5
Solomon Islands Labour Party 4
United Party 4
Independents 6

<<< Return to the Historical Archive page of parliamentary election results for SOLOMON ISLANDS <<<

Copyright 1993 Inter-Parliamentary Union