Parliamentary Chamber: Majlis Al-Chaab


<<< Return to the Historical Archive page of parliamentary election results for SYRIAN ARAB REPUBLIC <<<

  Majlis Al-Chaab

Dates of elections / renewal (from/to):

  24 August 1994

Purpose of elections:

  Elections were held for all the seats in Parliament on the normal expiry of the members’ term of office.

Background and outcome of elections:

  The election date was set by presidential decree on 24 July 1994, with candidatures to be submitted until 2 August.

A total of 7,818 candidates contested the 250 People’s Council seats. A maximum of one-third of the Council seats were set aside for independent candidates as distinct from those of the ruling National Progressive Front (NFP). The NFP, headed by President of the Republic Hafiz Al-Assad, was formed in 1972 by the grouping of five parties led by the Baath Arab Socialist Party.

On polling day, the ruling Baath – which supports creation of a unified Arab socialist society – once again emerged as the largest single party, with 135 seats, while independents captured 83. Of the total Council membership, 93 were incumbent Deputies.

On 10 September 1994, President Al-Assad opened the newly elected Parliament’s first session. Mr. Abdel Qader Qaddoura was then re-elected as Council President.

Round no 1 (24 August 1994): Elections results  
Number of registered electors 6,037,885
Voters 3,693,656 (61.17%)

Round no 1: Distribution of seats  
Political Group Total
National Progressive Front 167
Independents 83

  The National Progressive Front comprises the following parties:
  • Baath Arab Socialist Party: 135 seats
  • Communist Party of Syria: 8 seats
  • Syrian Arab Socialist Union Party: 7 seats
  • Arab Socialist Unionist Party: 7 seats
  • Movement of Arab Socialists: 6 seats
  • Socialist Unionist Democratic Party: 4 seats
  • Distribution of seats according to sex:  
    Men: 226
    Women: 24

    <<< Return to the Historical Archive page of parliamentary election results for SYRIAN ARAB REPUBLIC <<<

    Copyright 1994 Inter-Parliamentary Union