Parliamentary Chamber: Majlisi Namoyandogon


<<< Return to the Historical Archive page of parliamentary election results for TAJIKISTAN <<<

  Majlisi Namoyandogon

Dates of elections / renewal (from/to):

  27 February 2000

Purpose of elections:

  First legislative elections since the passing of a law in 1994 establishing a bicameral system

Background and outcome of elections:

  The 27 February 2000 elections were the first multi-party ones after the end of the civil war and the culmination of the peace process initiated in 1997, when the government and the Islamic-led opposition agreed to end five years of civil war.

A total of 324 candidates from six political parties contested the 63 seats, of which 41 were in single-member constituencies and 22 allocated under the proportional system. Run-off elections took place on 12 March in 12 constituencies where candidates in the February election failed to poll a majority vote of at least 50 percent.

The election campaign was tense and security was strengthened after a parliamentary candidate, Stamsullo Dzlabirov, was killed in a grenade attack the week before the elections. Some candidates and parties even threatened not to recognise the outcome of the elections as a whole. In a statement listing procedural irregularities during the first round of elections, the Islamic Revival Party accused the Tajik leadership of violating the protocol signed in November 1999 by President Rakhmonov and the IRP leader Said Abdullo Nuri on the conduct of the parliamentary elections.

The ruling party of President Imamali Rakhmonov, the People's Democratic Party of Tajikistan won the most seats with 30 of the 63 while the Communists won 13 seats. The Islamic Revival Party - IRP (Tajikistan is the only State in the region that has legalised an Islamic opposition party) won 2 seats and 15 seats were won by independent deputies.

While practically all observers from countries of the Commonwealth of Independent States, Iran and Pakistan asserted that the elections had not given rise to any visible violations of the electoral laws, the head of the joint UN-OSCE mission said that they had fallen short of minimum standards.

On 27 April, the newly formed bicameral Parliament convened its first joint session which officially closed the peace process.

Round no 1 (27 February 2000): Elections results  
Number of registered electors 2 873 145
Voters 2 693 120 (93.73%)
Blank or invalid ballot papers 70 587
Valid votes 2 622 533

Round no 1: Distribution of seats  
Political Group Total
People's Democratic Party 38
Communist Party 12
Islamic Revival Party 2
Non-party 11

Distribution of seats according to sex:  
Men: 55
Women: 8
Percent of women: 12.70

Distribution of seats according to age:  
31 to 40 years 10
41 to 50 years 29
Over 50 years 24

Distribution of seats according to profession:

Economists 16
Teachers 14
Engineers 14
Legal professions 6
Others 13

<<< Return to the Historical Archive page of parliamentary election results for TAJIKISTAN <<<

Copyright 2000 Inter-Parliamentary Union