Parliamentary Chamber: Türkiye Büyük Millet Meclisi (T.B.M.M)


<<< Return to the Historical Archive page of parliamentary election results for TURKEY <<<

  Türkiye Büyük Millet Meclisi (T.B.M.M)

Dates of elections / renewal (from/to):

  20 October 1991

Purpose of elections:

  Elections were held for all the seats in Parliament following premature dissolution of this body more than one year before the end of its normal term. General elections had previously been held in November 1987.

Background and outcome of elections:

  The general elections - announced in August 1991 - were held more than a year earlier than due on decision of the Grand National Assembly, the normal parliamentary term expiring on 29 November 1992. Among the six parties confronting the ruling, centre-right Motherland Party (ANAP) of Prime Minister Mesut Yilmaz were especially the conservative True Path Party (DYP), led by former Prime Minister Süleyman Demirel, and the centre-left Social Democratic Populist Party (SHP) headed by Mr. Erdal Inönü. Campaign debate focused above all on issues relating to country’s economy, particularly the question of its modernization and ongoing problems such as inflation and the large budget deficit. Mr. Yilmaz defended his overall record in this sector and advocated further free market policies, including privatisation of state industries. Mr. Demirel likewise supported such an approach and promised to reverse the inflationary trend. Other campaign issues concerned the personal governing style of President of the Republic Turgut Ozal and the situation in Kurdish-populated south-east Turkey. SHP had concluded an electoral alliance with the Kurdish nationalist People’s Labour Party.

Polling results were generally inconclusive; ANAP - whose support had eroded steadily since the previous (1987) elections - lost its absolute parliamentary majority and DYP, in line with opinion polls, increased its total. After inter-party negotiations on formation of a new Government, DYP and SHP signed a coalition pact on 19 November. The Cabinet - with 11 SHP and 22 DYP members - was announced the next day, Mr. Demirel becoming Prime Minister once again and Mr. Inönü his Deputy.

Round no 1 (20 October 1991): Elections results  
Number of registered electors 29,979,123
Voters 25,157,123 (83.9%)
Blank or invalid ballot papers 740,423
Valid votes 24,416,700

Round no 1: Distribution of votes  
Political Group Candidates Votes %
True Path Party (DYP) 856 6,596,548 27.03
Motherland Party (ANAP) 856 5,849,559 24.01
Social Democratic Populist Party (SHP) 856 5,060,804 20.75
Prosperity Party (RP) 856 4,103,887 16.88
Democratic Left Party (DSP) 856 2,619,868 10.75

Round no 1: Distribution of seats  
Political Group Total Gain/Loss
True Path Party (DYP) 178 +119
Motherland Party (ANAP) 115 -177
Social Democratic Populist Party (SHP) 88 -11
Prosperity Party (RP) 62 +62
Democratic Left Party (DSP) 7 +7

Distribution of seats according to sex:  
Men: 442
Women: 8

Distribution of seats according to date of birth:  
1911-1920 3
1921-1930 41
1931-1940 89
1941-1950 225
1951-1961 92

Distribution of seats according to profession:

Engineers 90
Public administrators 89
Trade and private managers sector 60
Private sector administrators 42
University faculty 31
Medical doctors 29
Farmers 25
Pharmacists 17
Industrialists 15
Press-publication, journalists 13
Teachers 10
Architects 9
Trade unionists 7
Military 7
Public officers 7
Banking 5
Financial advisers and accountants 4
Diplomats 4
Advisors 4
Authors 3
Dentists 3
Veterinarians 2
Lawyers 2
Others 156

  Because some members have more than one occupation, total number of professions is higher than total membership.

<<< Return to the Historical Archive page of parliamentary election results for TURKEY <<<

Copyright © 1991 Inter-Parliamentary Union