Parliamentary Chamber: National Parliament


<<< Return to the Historical Archive page of parliamentary election results for UGANDA <<<

  National Parliament

Dates of elections / renewal (from/to):

  27 June 1996

Purpose of elections:

  Elections were held for all the seats of the new Parliament provided for in the October 1995 Constitution. General elections (for the National Resistance Council) had previously been held in February 1989.

Background and outcome of elections:

  Its term was extended while a Constituent Assembly, chosen in March 1994, finalised the draft of a new Constitution. This new basic law was promulgated in October 1995 and provided, inter alia, for a new unicameral National Assembly of 276 members. Elections to this body were postponed several times before finally taking place seven weeks after President of the Republic Yoweri Museveni - in office since January 1986 and governing under the National Resistance Movement (NRM) - had been returned over two challengers.

In accordance with the decision taken in June 1995, legislative polling was held on a non-party basis, President Museveni himself being of the opinion that a multiparty system aggravated tribal divisions. Opposition forces were generally weak and lacked clear platforms to counter the President's slogan of "no change" and the Government's liberal economic policies which had succeeded in leading to one of Africa's more impressive growth rates. They ultimately boycotted the elections. Altogether, 814 candidates vied for the parliamentary seats.

Voting day was reportedly marked by no particular incidents. Turnout was low in the capital Kampala but strong elsewhere. Results left the NRM in command, with 156 of the parliamentary seats. International observers declared the polling to have been "transparent, free and fair". The National Assembly convened on 7 July, the day after the new Cabinet was announced.


  There are no parties in Uganda

Distribution of seats according to sex:  
Men: 226
Women: 50

<<< Return to the Historical Archive page of parliamentary election results for UGANDA <<<

Copyright 1996 Inter-Parliamentary Union