Parliamentary Chamber: Parliament


<<< Return to the Historical Archive page of parliamentary election results for VANUATU <<<


Dates of elections / renewal (from/to):

  30 November 1995

Purpose of elections:

  Elections were held for all the seats in Parliament on the normal expiry of the members' term of office.

Background and outcome of elections:

  A total of 171 candidates contested Parliament's 50 seats - four more than at the previous general elections of December 1991. The ruling, francophone Union of Moderate Parties (UPM) was mainly opposed by the anglophone Unity Front (UF) and the National United Party (NUP). Some independents were also in the running.

On polling day, the UF - a three-party coalition led by Mr. Donald Kalpokas and comprising his own Vanua'aku Pati (VP), the Melanesian Progressive Party (MPP) and the Tan Union - supplanted the UPM as leading parliamentary group by three seats: 20 to 17. The NUP, which had split from the socialist VP after its leader Walter Lini had been ousted from the premiership in September 1991 by Mr. Kalpokas, once again came in third.

The lack of an outright absolute majority by any one group necessitated inter-party negotiations on formation of a new Government, which proved particularly confusing since the UPM was split between factions led by outgoing Prime Minister Maxime Carlot Korman and Mr. Serge Vohor, its president. On 13 December, the UPM executive council ultimately chose Mr. Vohor to head the new Government in alliance with the mainly-anglophone NUP. On 21 December, he was duly elected Prime Minister by Parliament with the support of 28 members; the new, 12-member coalition Cabinet was announced the next day.

Round no 1 (30 November 1995): Elections results  
Voters 75%

Round no 1: Distribution of seats  
Political Group Total
Unity Front (UF) 20
Union of Moderate Parties (UPM) 17
National United Party (NUP) 9
Nagriamel 1
Fren Melanesian Party 1
Independents 2

<<< Return to the Historical Archive page of parliamentary election results for VANUATU <<<

Copyright 1995 Inter-Parliamentary Union