Parliamentary Chamber: National Assembly


<<< Return to the Historical Archive page of parliamentary election results for ZAMBIA <<<

  National Assembly

Dates of elections / renewal (from/to):

  31 October 1991

Purpose of elections:

  Elections were held for the 125 elective seats in Parliament following premature dissolution of this body on 4 September 1991. General elections had previously been held in October 1988.

Background and outcome of elections:

  On 4 September 1991, the National Assembly was prematurely dissolved and the election date set. Polling (also for President of the Republic) was held to usher in a system of political pluralism after 17 years of one-party (United National Independence Party - UNIP) rule.

In this context, the election campaign was described as lively but generally peaceful. Economic issues figured most prominently therein, with the main opposition Movement for Multi-Party Democracy (MMD) calling for a departure from what it labelled as the ruinous socialist policies pursued since the country’s independence, towards a free market economy marked by wide-scale privatisation to combat acute problems such as inflation, unemployment and the foreign debt. UNIP countered by claiming to be the only party able to maintain “peace and stability”. Altogether 330 candidates from six parties contested the 150 Assembly seats.

Voting procedures were monitored by foreign observers. Final results gave the MMD 125 seats, with UNIP winning the remaining 25. Mr. Frederick Chiluba (MMD) won the presidential race by a 76% majority vote over Mr. Kenneth Kaunda (UNIP), Head of State since 1964. He was sworn into office on 2 November and, five days later, named the new Cabinet.

Round no 1 (31 October 1991): Elections results  
Number of registered electors 2,900,000 (approx.)
Voters 1,318,526
Blank or invalid ballot papers 45,093
Valid votes 1,273,433

Round no 1: Distribution of votes  
Political Group Votes %
Movement for Multi-Party Democracy (MMD) 952,528 74.8
United National Independence Party (UNIP) 308,743 24.2

Round no 1: Distribution of seats  
Political Group Total
Movement for Multi-Party Democracy (MMD) 125
United National Independence Party (UNIP) 25

  Elected members only.

Distribution of seats according to sex:  
Men: 143
Women: 7

<<< Return to the Historical Archive page of parliamentary election results for ZAMBIA <<<

Copyright 1991 Inter-Parliamentary Union