Parliamentary Chamber: Parliament


<<< Return to the Historical Archive page of parliamentary election results for ZIMBABWE <<<


Dates of elections / renewal (from/to):

  8 April 1995
9 April 1995

Purpose of elections:

  Elections were held for all the popularly chosen seats in Parliament on the normal expiry of the members’ term of office.

Background and outcome of elections:

  The dates of the parliamentary elections were announced on 27 February 1995. There were contests in only 65 of the 120 constituencies, since 55 candidates (all belonging to the ruling Zimbabwe African National Union – Patriotic Front (ZANU(PF)) were declared elected unopposed on nomination day (13 March).

A total of 161 candidates representing seven political parties or running as independents were registered. ZANU (PF), led by President of the Republic Robert Mugabe, had the most candidates – 65. ZANU (Ndonga), led by the Reverend Ndabaningi Sithole, with 30 candidates, and the conservative Forum Party of Zimbabwe (FPZ), headed by Mr. Enock Dumbutshena, with 28 candidates, presented a token challenge to the governing party. Three other minor parties fielded a candidate each while 30 independents also stood. Four parties, of the 10 that had registered their symbols and abbreviations, boycotted the elections before nomination day. Their main reason for doing so was their displeasure with the Constitution and the Electoral Act which they felt gave too much power to the ruling party in deciding the conduct of the polls.

In its manifesto, ZANU (PF) pledged to embark on a speedier redistribution of land under the Land Acquisition Act of 1992. Apart from promising to forge ahead with an ongoing economic reform programme, ZANU (PF) pledged to pay more attention to indigenous economic empowerment and to work towards the betterment of the quality of life of every citizen. Opposition parties in general promised to change the present Constitution, to run a transparent and open government, and to complete the economic reform programme more expediently so as to halt the economic hardships the people were facing They also pledged to alleviate the high unemployment rate through the introduction of policies that would better attract investors. Reduction of corporate taxation as well as taxes in general were to form part of these policies.

Unlike previous polls which were marred by violence and accusations of intimidation, those of 1995 went off peacefully. In response to campaign call for a large voter turnout, more than half (57%) of the eligible voters in the 65 constituencies contested reportedly cast ballots. ZANU (PF) won 63 of the seats with ZANU (Ndonga) capturing the remaining two. ZANU (PF)’s overall total in Parliament thus stood at 118.

President Mugabe named a new Cabinet on 20 April.

Round no 1 (8 and 9 April 1995): Elections results  
Number of registered electors 2,600,000 (approx.)
Voters 57% (approx.)
Blank or invalid ballot papers 100,000 (approx.)
Valid votes 1,396,500 (approx.)

Round no 1: Distribution of votes  
Political Group Candidates Votes %
ZANU (PF) 120 1,140,000 77.0
ZANU (Ndonga) 30 93,546 6.0
Forum Party of Zimbabwe (FPZ) 28 88,223 5.9
Independents and others 34 74,732 5.0

Round no 1: Distribution of seats  
Political Group Total Gain/Loss
ZANU (PF) 118 +1
ZANU (Ndonga) 2 +1
Forum Party of Zimbabwe (FPZ) 0 -
Independents and others 0 -

  Figures bear on the 65 contested constituencies.
Excluding non-elected members.

Distribution of seats according to sex:  
Men: 128
Women: 22

<<< Return to the Historical Archive page of parliamentary election results for ZIMBABWE <<<

Copyright 1995 Inter-Parliamentary Union