Parliamentary Chamber: Constituent Assembly


<<< Return to the Historical Archive page of parliamentary election results for TIMOR-LESTE <<<

  Constituent Assembly

Dates of elections / renewal (from/to):

  30 August 2001

Purpose of elections:

  Elections were held to choose the 88 members of the Constituent Assembly

Background and outcome of elections:

  An estimated 93 per cent of the 425,000 registered electors cast votes on 30 August 2001 to choose an 88-member Constituent Assembly with the task of framing a Constitution in preparation for full independence in 2002. Since the withdrawal of Indonesia in the bloody aftermath of the August 1999 referendum on the status of East Timor, the territory had been governed under the auspices of the UN Transitional Administration for East Timor.

On 31 January 2002, the Constituent Assembly voted to turn itself into the country's first legislature. During its first term of office, the Parliament would comprise 88 members on an exceptional basis. Section 151 (Transformation of the Constituent Assembly) was passed with 65 in favour, 16 against and 2 abstentions after a nominal vote in which each member had to declare his position.

East Timor acceded to statehood on 20 May 2002. The same day, the new Parliament started to function.

Round no 1 (30 August 2001): Elections results  
Number of registered electors 425'000
Voters 93%

Round no 1: Distribution of seats  
Political Group Total
Revolutionary Front for an independent East Timor (FRETILIN) 55
Democratic Party 7
Social-democratic association of Timor (ASDT) 6
Social Democrat Party (PSD) 6
Democratic Union of Timor (UDT) 2
Klibur Oan Timor Asuwain (KOTA) 2
Christian Democratic Party (PDC) 2
Nationalist Party of Timor (PNT) 2
Popular Party of Timor (PPT) 2
Socialist Party of Timor (PST) 1
Liberal Party (PL) 1
Christian-democratic Party of Timor (UDC/PDC) 1
Independents 1

Distribution of seats according to sex:  
Men: 66
Women: 22
Percent of women: 25.29

<<< Return to the Historical Archive page of parliamentary election results for TIMOR-LESTE <<<

Copyright 2001 Inter-Parliamentary Union