CAPE VERDE

Date of Elections: 7 December 1980

Purpose of Elections

Elections were held for all the members of Parliament in the first such poll since independence was attained in July 1975*.

Characteristics of Parliament

The unicameral Parliament of Cape Verde, the National People's Assembly, comprises 63 members elected for 5 years.

Electoral System

All Cape Verdean citizens who are at least 18 years of age, resident in the country and in full possession of their civil and political rights are entitled to vote; certain citizens residing abroad are also granted the suffrage. Disqualified are certain persons recognized to be mentally or physically infirm and those serving a prison sentence for fraud.

Qualified electors at least 21 years old may be candidates for Parliament. Disqualified are citizens who have been naturalized within the previous five years and persons (other than those abroad on official mission or public service) who have not resided in the country for at least six months before the announcement of the election date.

All Assembly candidates belong to the African Party for the Independence of Cape Verde (PAICV), the country's sole party. In each constituency, there is one Deputy for every 2500 registered electors, or fraction above 1000, the minimum number of seats to be filled being two. A single list of candidates, bearing as many names as seats to be filled plus three substitute candidates, is presented by an electoral college; to be elected, candidates must obtain the majority of votes cast by the electorate.

Substitute candidates appearing on the same list and also chosen at general elections fill parliamentary seats which fall vacant between general elections.

General Considerations and Conduct of the Elections

Previous general elections had taken place in June 1975, just prior to independence; all Assembly seats were won by the African Party for the Independence of Cape Verde (PAICV), the only legal party in Cape Verde.

• See Chronicle of Parliamentary Elections X (1975-1976), p. 7.

The archipelago's first Constitution was adopted on 5 September 1980*. It paved the way for the December elections, the date of which was announced on 7 October 1980 by President of the Republic Aristides Pereira.

On polling day, it was announced that the PAICV won 92.48% of the votes cast; approximately 75% of the registered electorate participated in the poll. The Prime Minister is Major Pedro Verona Rodrigues **Pires.**

Statistics

1. Results of the Elections and Distribution of Seats in the National People's Assembly

Number of registered electors.	٠			.126,028	
Voters				95,486	(75.7%)
Blank or void ballot papers.				7,177	
Valid votes				.88,309	

Political Group	Votes obtained	Number of Seats
African Party for the Independence of Cape Verde (PAICV)	_ 88,309	63

^{*} See section Parliamentary Developments, pp. 10-11.