CHAD

Date of Elections: December 14, 1969

Characteristics of Parliament

The unicameral Parliament of Chad, the National Assembly, consists of 105 Deputies elected for 5 years. Whereas the preceding Assembly had consisted of only 75 Deputies, their number had been increased by an Ordinance passed on November 22, 1969, and ratified by law No. 21/70.

The mandate of members of the previous legislature, due to expire in March 1969, had been extended by several months.

Electoral System

All citizens of Chad of either sex and in possession of their civil and political rights have the right to vote, provided they are at least 21 years old by the day on which the revision of the electoral lists is concluded, and have resided in a commune for 6 months.

The electoral lists are permanent and are revised annually and on certain exceptional occasions. They are prepared in Chad's territorial communities, the municipalities and sub-prefectures.

Citizens of Chad of either sex are eligible for the Assembly if they are at least 23 years old, registered on an electoral list before the day of the election, have been resident on the territory of Chad for no less than 6 months, and can read and write French. Persons holding a non-elective public office are ineligible.

The territory of Chad constitutes one single constituency in which the 105 Deputies are elected by simple plurality party-list system, without vote-splitting or preferential vote. Thus, the list which receives the greatest number of votes is awarded all the seats.

If at least 30 seats in the Assembly are vacant during the legislature, by-elections can be held, except during the year preceding the renewal of the Assembly.

General Political Considerations and Conduct of the Elections

The people were called upon to ratify one single list submitted by the only political party, the National Progressive Party, led by Mr. Fran\$ois Tombalbaye, Chief of State. Only 8 of the candidates had been among the 75 members of the dissolved Assembly.

П Chad

The average age of candidates was appreciably lower than that of the retiring Deputies. Observers thought that Mr. Tombalbaye wished, by thus rejuvenating the Assembly and increasing its membership, to create the conditions for a political revival which would be based on broader popular support.

Amongst the candidates were a certain number of personalities who had previously been in opposition, notably, Mr. Abbo Nassour, former Minister of the Interior.

As a whole, the elections took place in a atmosphere of order, although they were boycotted in one commune. The sole list of National Progressive Party candidates, having won 99.82 % of the votes, was declared elected. Mr. Nassour was subsequently elected President of the National Assembly.

Statistics

1. Results of the Elections

| Number of registered voters | .1,664,848 |
|---|--------------------|
| Voters | 1,583,422 (95.1 %) |
| Void or blank ballot papers | 2,829 |
| Votes for candidates of the National Pro- | |
| gressive Party | 1,580,593 (99.8 %) |

2. Distribution of Deputies according to Sex

| Men. | | • | | | | | | ٠ | | 104 |
|--------|---|---|--|---|---|--|--|---|--|-----|
| Women. | - | ٠ | | ٠ | ٠ | | | ٠ | | .1 |
| | | | | | | | | | | 105 |

3. Average Age: 30