## **COMOROS**

Dates of Elections: 7 and 14 March 1982

# **Purpose of Elections**

Elections were held for all the seats in Parliament following the premature dissolution of this body on 25 January 1982. General elections were previously held in December 1978.

#### Characteristics of Parliament

The unicameral Parliament of the Comoros, the Federal Assembly, comprises 38 members elected for 5 years

## **Electoral System**

All Comorian citizens who are at least 18 years of age, in full possession of their civil and political rights and under no legal disability, are entitled to vote.

Electoral registers are compiled on the level of prefectures of the country's different regions. Voting is not compulsory.

Qualified electors at least 21 years of age are eligible for the Federal Assembly. The parliamentary mandate is incompatible with all other public functions or offices.

Each candidate must make a deposit of CFA 10,000 (equivalent to approximately 200 French francs), which is reimbursed if he obtains at least 10% of the votes cast in his constituency.

For election purposes, the Comoros are divided into 38 constituencies, each of which returns one Assembly member by majority vote in two ballots; a candidate is declared elected if he obtains an absolute majority of the votes cast in either ballot. The island of Grande-Comore comprises 18 constituencies, Anjouan has 15 and Moheli 5.

By-elections are held to fill parliamentary vacancies which arise between general elections.

## General Considerations and Conduct of the Elections

On 25 January 1982, President of the Republic Ahmed Abdallah prematurely dissolved the Government and the Federal Assembly subsequent to having accused certain of the country's leaders of corruption and mismanagement of the State budget, and with a view to giving a new impetus to the Government's policy. The President then announced plans to reduce the civil service by one-third. On 8 February, Mr. Ali Mroudjae was appointed Prime Minister, his Council of Ministers being announced one week later.

Legislative elections were held in two rounds, on 7 and 14 March. As at the previous polling in December 1978, candidates ran as independents, not representing any political party. Eighteen of the Federal Assembly seats were won outright in the first round. A total of 37 of the 38 seats were reportedly won by candidates supporting President Abdallah.