## CONGO

Date of Elections: 23 September 1984

## Purpose of Elections

Elections were held for all the seats in Parliament on the normal expiry of the members' term of office

#### Characteristics of Parliament

The unicameral Parliament of the People's Republic of the Congo, the People's National Assembly, consists of 153 members elected for 5 years.

## **Electoral System**

All Congolese citizens at least 18 years of age who are in full possession of their civil and political rights, meet the prescribed residence requirements and are registered as electors are entitled to vote. Disqualified are persons convicted of crime and certain other offences, undischarged bankrupts and persons incompetent to manage their own affairs.

An electoral register is drawn up in each of the country's districts or communes. It is permanent and revised annually. Although voting is considered a civic duty, no sanction is imposed on abstentionists.

All qualified electors may be candidates for Parliament. The exercise of public functions is in principle not incompatible with the office of Deputy. This latter office is nevertheless incompatible with that of Minister or president of local executive committees, and any Deputy who uses his title to publicize a particular enterprise is suspended from Parliament for one year.

Lists of candidates are compiled by the Central Committee of the *Parti congolais du travail* following "grass roots" consultation of the electorate by delegations composed of members of the Party and mass organizations. Candidates need not necessarily be Party members.

The 153 Assembly seats are allotted to representatives of the Party (68 seats), of mass organizations (55), of the armed forces (10), and of the country's regions and the capital of Brazzaville (20)\*. The number of candidates equals the number of seats to be filled; all candidates appear on the same national list.

Deputies are elected by majority list system without vote splitting; voting is secret. By-elections are held to fill seats which fall vacant between general elections unless the vacancy occurs within 12 months of the end of the legislative term.

<sup>•</sup>See section Parliamentary Developments, p. 9.

138

15

153

#### General Considerations and Conduct of the Elections

Prior to the parliamentary elections, Colonel Denis Sassou Nguesso was re-elected as President of the Republic for a second five-year term. The election, by delegates to the third congress of the ruling Congolese Labour Party (Parti congolais du travail- PCT), took place on 30 July 1984. A new Council of Ministers was announced on 11 August; it is headed by Prime Minister Ange-Edouard Poungui.

In accordance with the new Electoral Law, the campaign for the parliamentary elections lasted 10 days. On polling day, the PCT candidates received the overwhelming support of the electorate.

### Statistics

Men

Women

# 1. Results of the Elections and Distribution of Seats in the People's National Assembly

Number of registered electors Voters Blank or void ballot papers . Valid votes	927,944 868,990 (93.64%) 15,822 853,168	
Political Group	Number of Seats	
Congolese Labour Party (Parti congolais du travail - PCT)	153	
2. Distribution of Deputies according to Se	ex	