### FIJI

Dates of Elections: September 17 to 24, 1977

### Purpose of Elections

Elections were held for all the members of the House of Representatives following the premature dissolution of Parliament on June 1, 1977. Previous general elections had taken place in March and April, 1977\*.

## **Characteristics of Parliament**

The bicameral Parliament of Fiji is composed of a Senate and a House of Representatives.

The Senate consists of 22 members appointed by the Governor-General, of whom:

- 8 nominated by the Great Council of Chiefs;
- 7 nominated by the Prime Minister;
- 6 nominated by the Leader of the Opposition;
- 1 nominated by the Council of the Island of Rotuma.

Appointments are for 6 years, 11 members retiring every 3 years.

The House of Representatives consists of 52 members elected for 5 years on the following basis:

- *Fijian:* 12 members elected by voters on the Fijian Communal Roll; 10 members elected by voters on the National Roll.
- *Indian:* 12 members elected by voters on the Indian Communal Roll; 10 members elected by voters on the National Roll.
- General (persons neither Fijian nor Indian): 3 members elected by voters on the General Communal Roll; 5 members elected by voters on the National Roll.

The "National Roll" consists of **all** registered electors on the three Communal Rolls.

Chron. XII (1977-78)

<sup>•</sup> See Chronicle of Parliamentary Elections XI (1976-1977), pp. 57-69.

#### Electoral System

Any person may by registered as elector on a Roll if he is a citizen of Fiji and has attained the age of 21 years. The insane, persons owing allegiance to a State outside the British Commonwealth, those under sentence of death or imprisonment for a term exceeding 12 months and those convicted of electoral offences may not be registered.

Rolls are revised both on fixed dates and before general and by-elections. Voting is not compulsory. Postal voting is permitted for certain categories of electors.

Any qualified voter is eligible to be elected as a member of the House of Representatives. Disqualified, however, are undischarged bankrupts, persons holding public office, persons who held certain government posts in the preceding three years, government contractors and election officials.

Candidatures must be submitted on a nomination paper signed by six to eight voters of the subject constituency, and be accompanied by a deposit of F\$ 100, which is forfeited if the candidate is not elected and the number of votes polled by him does not exceed 10 % of the total number of valid votes cast in the constituency.

To be qualified to be appointed to the Senate one must be registered as a voter on one of the three Communal Rolls. The same disqualifications apply as for candidates to the House, except that of interest in government contracts.

For election purposes, Fiji is divided into 12 constituencies, each returning one communally-elected Fijian member; into 12 constituencies, each returning one communally-elected Indian member; and into three constituencies, each returning one communally-elected General member. For the National Roll elections there are 10 constituencies, each returning one Fijian and one Indian member, and these are combined into five pairs for the purpose of each returning one General member.

Candidates are elected by simple majority. Each voter is entitled to cast four votes: one in respect of the Communal Roll constituency in which he is registered and three in respect of the National Roll constituencies in which he is registered.

A by-election is held to fill a House seat which becomes vacant between general elections. Senate vacancies are filled by appointment.

General Political Considerations and Conduct of the Elections

As reported in the X1th *Chronicle*, the controversial developments which followed the March-April general elections earlier in the year led to the dissolution of Parliament on June 1 after the minority Alliance Party (AP) Government had been defeated in a vote of confidence, and had resigned.

While the strongest challenge to the AP again came from the National Federation Party (NFP), the latter was this time split into two factions — the "dove" faction of NFP leader Siddiq Koya and the "flower" faction under the leadership of Mr. Jai Ram Reddy — which presented separate lists of candidates.

On a polling day marked by a turnout of approximately 77.5 %, these internal divisions helped to give the AP its largest overall House majority since independence in 1970. Support for the AP was interpreted by observers as the expression of a public desire to end months of racial hostility among the nation's inhabitants.

Outgoing Prime Minister Ratu Sir Kamisese Mara formed a new Cabinet on September 29.

## Statistics

# 1. Results of the Elections and Distribution of Seats in the House of Representatives

## Valid votes

## 723,616

Political Group	Number of Candidates	Votes obtained	%	Number of Seats •
Alliance Party. National Federation Party	.51	378,349	49.6	36 (+12)
"Flower" Faction	<u>.29</u>	168,763		] ( <b>-H</b> )
"Dove" faction Fijian Nationalist Party		152,026 18,250		-(-1)
Independents		6,228	0.8	_M=)
				52

\* The election results by type of constituency were as follows:

	AP	NFP-FNFP-D	FNP	Ind.
Fijian Communal Seats	.11			1
Indian Communal Seats	.—	9 3	_	
General Communal Seats	3		_	
Fijian National Seats	.8	2 —	_	
Indian National Seats	.9	1 —	_	_
General National Seats	5		_	_