#### IHAX

Date of Elections: August 4, 1967

### **Characteristics of Parliament:**

The purpose of the elections was to renew the 219 members of the Majlis (House of Representatives) and the 30 elected senators. An equal number of senators is nominated by the Shahinshah. The duration of the Legislature for both Houses is four years.

Electoral System:

All Iranian citizens at least 20 years of age who have been resident in the relevant province for six months and enjoy full civil and political rights are entitled to vote. Voters are also required to belong to one of the State religions, i.e. Moslem, Christian, Judaic or Zoroastrian.

Candidates to the Majlis must be registered voters and at least 30 years old.

Candidates to the Senate must also be registered voters and at least 40 years old. They must also be well known or experienced: for example, a deputy ^ times, former minister, ambassador, governor or university professor. There exist certain incompatibilities between the office of parliamentarian and that of public or military official.

Members of Parliament are elected on a simple majority uninominal basis in 219 constituencies in the case of deputies. The same system applies to senators, 15 of whom are elected in the provinces and other administrative regions and 15 in Teheran.

#### General Political Considerations and Conduct of the Elections:

Three political groups contested the elections, namely: the Iran Novin Party, headed by the Prime Minister, Mr. M. A. Abbas Hoveyda, the Mardom Party, an opposition group, and the extreme right-wing Pan-Iranian Party which was making its first appearance on the Iranian political scene.

Polling took place under calm conditions, with about 65 per cent of the electorate abstaining — a common phenomenon in Iran. Victory went to the Iran Novin Party which won nearly 80 per cent of the votes cast.

On this occasion, the electorate also voted for the 279 delegates to the Constituent Assembly, convened in order to make the necessary amendments to the Iranian Constitution for the designation of a Regent.

Statistics:

Political Group		Candidates	Seats obtained				
	Majlis	Senate	Majlis	Senate			
	219	80	W	86			
	190	19	3*	4			
Pan-Iranian ^	is 4		2 <f*< td=""><td>30**</td></f*<>	30**			

### 1. Distribution of Seats in the Majlis and Senate

\*>4 seats remained to be filled when these results were communicated. \*\* 30 additional senators are nominated by the Sovereign.

## Iran

# 2. Composition of the Constituent Assembly elected on August 4, 1967

# Political Group TM ~

Iran Novin	•		•												232
Mardom.															.30
Pan-Iranian	•														.5
Independents	<b>3</b> .	·	·	•	·	•	·	•	·	•	•	·	•	•	<u>.</u> 6
															273*

\* 8 caata jemnin te ho fillodi

6 Se«i-s fain\* <f&wkjr