#### KIRIBATI

Dates of Elections: 12 and 19 January 1983

## **Purpose of Elections**

Elections were held for all the elective seats in Parliament following premature dissolution of this body on 10 December 1982. General elections had previously been held in March-April 1982.

## **Characteristics of Parliament**

The unicameral Parliament of Kiribati, the House of Assembly (*Maneaba ni Maungatabu*), comprises 36 elected representatives and one nominated representative of the Banaban community, all of whom have 4-year terms of office. In addition, the Attorney-General is an *ex-officio* member if he is not already an elected member of the Assembly.

## **Electoral System**

Every citizen of Kiribati at least 18 years of age who resides within an electoral district is entitled to vote in parliamentary elections. Disqualified are persons serving a sentence of imprisonment of at least 12 months, the insane and persons guilty of electoral offences.

Registers of electors are revised prior to a general election once every four years. Voting is not compulsory.

Qualified electors who have attained the age of 21 years may be elected to the House of Assembly. Disqualified are persons under allegiance to a foreign State, those holding election-related employment or public office, and persons under sentence of death.

Candidates must be nominated by three electors registered in the same district.

Assembly members are elected in 23 constituencies allotted one, two or three seats by absolute majority vote (or simple majority, if not successful in the first round). By-elections are held within three months to fill parliamentary vacancies which arise during the legislative term.

u\_ Kiribati

## General Considerations and Conduct of the Elections

Parliament was prematurely dissolved in December 1982 following a vote of no confidence in the Government. Previous elections - the first since Kiribati attained independence in July 1979\* - had been held in late March/early April 1982.

In the absence of political parties, all 191 candidates ran as independents. On polling day, two outgoing Cabinet Ministers were among 10 members who lost their Assembly seats.

On 17 February, the presidential election was won by Mr. leremia T. Tabai. The next day, Mr. Tabai was sworn in for his third term and appointed a new Cabinet.

## Statistics

# 1. Results of the Elections

Number	of	re	gis	tere	ed	ele	cto	rs.		٠				25,011
Voters.														.19,995 (75.9%)

<sup>\*</sup> See Chronicle of Parliamentary Elections and Developments ATK (1979-1980), p. 20.