MALI

Date of Elections: 19 June 1979

Purpose of Elections

Elections were held for all the members of Parliament provided for by the 1974 Constitution*

Characteristics of Parliament

The unicameral Parliament of Mali, the National Assembly, consists of 82 Deputies elected for 4 years.

Electoral System

Under the Constitution, all Malian citizens, regardless of race, ethnic origin, sex or opinion, are entitled to vote.

Deputies are elected in one round of balloting in single-member constituencies.

The parliamentary mandate is incompatible with membership of the Government. Moreover, until 1 July 1984 (10 years after the date of promulgation of the Constitution), no person may be a member of the National Assembly who held certain specific positions prior to 19 November 1968 (the date of the military coup d'Etat), or who was subjected to at least six months' imprisonment at the time of the events of 19 November 1968.

General Political Considerations and Conduct of the Elections

It will be recalled that the 80-member National Assembly elected in February 1964 was dissolved in January 1968. Since that year, the Military Committee of National Liberation (CMLN) has ruled by decree, with the assistance of an appointed Council of Ministers. In June 1974, a new Constitution providing, *inter alia*, for a National Assembly and a presidential form of government was approved by popular referendum. This same text also allowed for a five-year transitional period during which the CMLN would continue to rule the country.

The county's sole legal party is the Democratic Union of the Mali People (UDPM-*Union Democratique du Peuple Malieri*). The UDPM held its first congress in March 1979, during which some revision of the 1974 Constitution occurred. The party's fundamental objective, according to reports, is to mobilize all the forces of the country towards consolidating national unity and accelerating a planned and independent economy.

^{*} See section Parliamentary Developments, p. 19.

ii Mali

Polling day, which had been announced on 15 May, was marked by a high turnout. The electorate chose the 82 Deputies as well as the President of the Republic. The single candidate for the latter post was the Head of State, General Moussa Traore, who had held this position since December 1968. UDPM candidates reportedly captured 99.85% of the total votes cast. On 28 June, President Traore announced changes in the composition of the Government.

Statistics

1. Results of the Elections and Distribution of Seats in the National Assembly

Number of registered electors	3,283,985
Voters.	3,185,258(97%)
Votes in favour of the Union Democratique du	
PeupleMalien.	3,180,565
Political Group	Number of Seats
Union Democratique du Peuple Malien (UDPM)	82