MEXICO

Date of Elections: July 5, 1970

Reason for Elections

That day, the electors were called upon to renew every member of the Chamber of Deputies upon the normal expiry of their mandate.

Characteristics of Parliament

The Mexican Parliament, or Congress of the Union, consists of two Houses:

- the Senate which numbers 60 members elected for 6 years;
- the Chamber of Deputies which has 213 members elected for 3 years on the basis of 1 Deputy per 200,000 inhabitants or fraction of more than 100,000, each State being represented by at least 2 Deputies.

Electoral System

Citizens of either sex who are at least 18 years of age, enjoy their political rights and are registered — as they are under obligation to do — on the National electoral rolls, may vote in elections (it should be noted that the right to vote between the ages of 18 to 21, which had been restricted to married people until 1970, was extended, that year, to bachelors). Mentally defective persons, interned drug addicts, persons convicted of a crime involving liability to imprisonment, persons serving a prison sentence and persons deprived of the right to vote by judicial order may not vote. Voting is a civic duty.

All Mexican citizens by birth, who are at least 25 years of age and are resident in their constituency, may stand for election to the Chamber of Deputies. Church Ministers, members of the Armed Forces, Chiefs of Police, Secretaries and Under-Secretaries of State, members of the Supreme Court and State-Assembly Deputies may not stand for election. Governors, Government Secretaries and Magistrates may not be elected in the State where they hold office.

The same conditions are required of Senate candidates who must, however, be at least 35 years of age. Only national political parties which meet the conditions required to be registered as such may present candidates.

Deputies are elected in the following manner:

1. 178 Representatives are elected in single-member constituencies by simple plurality of vote.

2. Thirty-five seats (Party Deputies) are then distributed, proportionally to the vote obtained at the national scale, among the political parties which have registered as such for one year and which have won at least 20 seats. One party cannot, however, receive more than 20 such seats.

3. The designation of "Party Deputies" is not left to the discretion of political groups. The appropriate number of candidates of each party who have obtained the most votes are elected.

The 60 Senators are all elected in single-member constituencies by simple plurality of vote.

In the case of a vacancy in either of the Chambers during the legislature, the seat is filled by the substitute elected at the same time as the titular member.

General Political Considerations and Conduct of the Elections

The legislative elections of July 5, 1970, coincided with the election of the Chief of State which occurs every six years; the election gave Mr. Luis Echeverria Alvarez, the Institutional Revolutionary Party (PRI) candidate, the highest State office.

This political group has been in the forefront of the Mexican political scene for a number of decades and is heir to the National Revolutionary Party (PNR) created in 1928.

The party has managed to preserve and increase its strength by allowing a wide representation of tendencies to fill its ranks. From its very creation, it has always managed to carry its candidates to the top in presidential elections.

During the past few years the PRI has strived to accelerate agrarian reform and economic development. Non-alignment has been the guiding principle of the Government's foreign policy.

The Opposition consists of a number of political groups: the National Action Party (PAN), a Catholic conservative group; the Socialist Popular Party (PPS) of Marxist tendencies; and the Authentic Party of the Mexican Revolution (PARM), which is composed of former members of the PRI.

Statistics

Results of Elections and Distribution of Seats in the Chamber of Deputies

Number of registered voters.		21,700,000
Voters		14,242,379 (65.63 %)
Blank or void ballot papers.		447,829
Valid votes	•	13,794,550

Mexico

Institutional Revolutionary Party (PRI)	174
National Action Party (PAN)	<u>\</u>
Socialist Popular Party (PPS)	. 35
Authentic Mexican Revolutionary Party (PARM)	j