NAURU

Date of Elections: 6 December 1980

Purpose of Elections

Elections were held for all the members of Parliament on the normal expiry of their term of office.

Characteristics of Parliament

The unicameral Parliament of Nauru comprises 18 members elected for 3 years.

Electoral System

All citizens who have attained the age of 20 years and are resident in the country may vote in general elections unless they are insane or have been convicted and are under sentence for an offence punishable by imprisonment for one year or longer. Voting is compulsory except in certain specified instances.

Any citizen who has attained the age of 20 years is qualified to be elected as a member of Parliament unless he is insane, an undischarged bankrupt, under sentence for an offence punishable by death or imprisonment for at least one year, does not possess the required residence or domicile qualifications, or holds an office of profit in the service of Nauru or of a statutory corporation.

A written nomination of a candidate must be submitted at least 14 days prior to polling day, signed by the candidate and two or more electors of his district.

For election purposes, Nauru is divided into eight constituencies; two members are returned in seven of these, four in the eighth, according to a system of preferential vote. In each constituency, the candidate who has received the largest number of first preference votes is, if that number constitutes an absolute majority of these votes cast, declared elected.

General Considerations and Conduct of the Elections

General elections were held in November 1977. In April 1978, President Bernard Dowiyogo had been compelled to resign by supporters of the former President, Chief Hammer DeRoburt, who defeated a bill concerning phosphate (Nauru's main resource) royalties. The following month, Mr. DeRoburt was re-elected President by Parliament.

Parliament was dissolved in October 1980. On polling day, the incumbent President and his allies emerged victorious, maintaining their legislative majority. Mr. DeRoburt was reelected President on 9 December and announced his Cabinet the next day.