### NEPAL

Date of Elections: 12 May 1986

## Purpose of Elections

Elections were held for all the elective seats in Parliament on the normal expiry of the members' term of office.

### Characteristics of Parliament

The unicameral Parliament of Nepal, the National *Panchayat* (Assembly), is composed of 140 members. Of these, 112 are elected and 28 are nominated by the King. The term of the Assembly is 5 years.

### **Electoral System**

All Nepalese citizens aged 21 or above are entitled to vote if registered as electors. Electoral lists are revised before each poll. Voting is not compulsory.

National *Panchayat* candidates must be Nepalese citizens at least 25 years of age who do not hold public office nor have previously been recalled from office as *Panchayat* members on grounds of misconduct or incapacity. They must, moreover, be members of one of the class organizations (peasants, labourers, women, youth, elders, ex-servicemen) as prescribed by the Constitution.

Since many citizens are illiterate, candidates are identified on the ballot paper by pictorial symbols. Each candidate is obliged to pay a deposit of Rs. 1,500, which is forfeited if he does not obtain at least 10% of the votes cast in his constituency. He must furthermore be proposed by one elector and supported by another.

Deputies are elected by simple majority vote in 75 districts, 38 being allocated one seat each and 37 two seats each. By-elections are held to fill parliamentary vacancies which arise between general elections.

### General Considerations and Conduct of the Elections

Following the previous (May 1981) general elections, Prime Minister Surya Bahadur Thapa was ousted in July 1983 and a new Council of Ministers was formed by Mr. L.B. Chand, a former Chairman of the National *Panchayat* (Assembly). The 1986 election date was set on 23 January.

Altogether 1,548 candidates contested the Assembly's 112 elective seats. Due to the remoteness of certain voting districts, final results in some districts were only announced on

II Nepal

22 May. These indicated that 63 successful candidates were newcomers to the National *Panchayat* while 74 had previously been members.

In accordance with constitutional provisions, the newly-elected National *Panchayat* met on 9 June. Mr. Marich Man Singh Shrestha was elected Prime Minister on 15 June and he named his Council of Ministers the next day.

# Statistics

# 1. Results of the Elections

Number of registered electors9,044,964Voters5,455,672Blank or void ballot papers257,719Valid votes5,197,953	(60.3%)
2. Distribution of Members of Parliament according to Sex	
Men.	
137*	
3. Distribution of Members of Parliament according to Age Group	
25-30 years. 3	
31-40 ».	
41-50 » 62	
51-60» 36	
<u>O</u> ver 60 »	
137*	

<sup>\*</sup> No data on three remaining members.