SUDAN

Dates of Elections: 28 April to 10 May 1980

Purpose of Elections

Elections were held for all the members of Parliament following premature dissolution of this body on 4 February 1980, in accordance with Article 108 of the Constitution. General elections had previously been held in February 1978.

Characteristics of Parliament

The unicameral Parliament of Sudan, the People's Assembly, consists of 368 members —332 elected and 36 appointed by the President of the Republic*. All members have 4-year terms of office.

In accordance with the Constitution, the elected members represent geographical areas (136), administrative units (36) and the alliance of the working forces of the people (160). The appointed members—who may not be Ministers—are meant to represent different talents.

Electoral System

Under the terms of the People's Assembly Election Rules 1980, any person is qualified to register in the electoral roll of a geographic constituency, or area, if he is a Sudanese at least 18 years of age who has been resident in the constituency concerned for a minimum of three months (nomads and semi-nomads are exempted from this last condition). Disqualified are the insane and persons not in full possession of their political rights.

Electoral rolls for constituencies of the units of the alliance of the working forces of the people include rolls of popular organizations at the provincial level (18 provinces) and rolls of sectoral (national) organizations at the national level. The electoral rolls for constituencies of the administrative units, or 18 provinces, consist of the members of the people's executive council of the province and members of districts, towns and rural councils in the province.

Qualified electors who are at least 21 years of age, literate and who have not previously been convicted of an offence connected with honour, morals or the security of the State may be candidates for the People's Assembly. Further requirements are not being a member of the people's regional council and the producing of a certificate from the Sudanese Socialist Union (the country's only recognized political organization) to the effect that there is no objection to the nomination concerned. The nominations of officials and workers in the Government or public sector must be accompanied by a certificate from the unit to which the official or worker belongs showing that he has ceased to perform his duties.

* See section Parliamentary Developments, pp. 30-31.

Chroh. XIV (1979-80)

Nominations must be seconded by two qualified electors of the constituency in question and be accompanied by the payment of 100 non-refundable Sudanese pounds.

Assembly members are elected by simple majority. There are 136 single-member constituencies for the geographical or territorial seats; 18 constituencies for the 54 seats allotted to the popular organizations within the framework of the alliance of the working forces of the people; 25 constituencies for the 106 seats allotted to the sectoral (national) organizations within this same framework; and 18 constituencies for the 36 seats allotted to administrative units. Voting may be effected either by ballot paper or token.

Assembly seats which fall vacant between general elections are filled through by-elections, held within 60 days of the vacancy. Seats of appointed members are filled by presidential appointment.

General Political Considerations and Conduct of the Elections

,

The reason given for premature dissolution of the People's Assembly was to widen the base of political participation in the country and, hence, increase the Assembly's overall membership (from 304 to 368). This was designed to pave the way towards establishment of a regional government system.

Within the framework of Sudan's unique system of elective seats, candidates in the 1980 elections numbered 663 for the 136 geographical constituencies; 180 for the 36 seats reserved for administrative units; 254 for the 54 seats set aside for the popular organizations of the alliance of working forces of the people; and 350 for the 106 seats earmarked for the sectoral (national) organizations of this same alliance.

The country's sole legal political organization is the Sudanese Socialist Union (SSU), founded in 1972. All parliamentary candidates must be approved on the basis of a "certificate of non-objection" issued by the SSU. The President of the Republic—and at the same time the Prime Minister—is General Gaafar Mohammed Nimeri.

Sudan

Statistics

1. Results of the Elections and Distribution of Seats in the People's Assembly

Political Group	Number of Seats
Sudanese Socialist Union	368
2. Distribution of Members of Parliament according to Professional Category	
Government officials	96
Teachers and University lecturers	59
Businessmen	58
Farmers	46
Workers	37
Organized Forces	22
Members of the legal profession	20
Administrative officers of local government	II
Economists	6
Engineers	4
Agriculturists	3
Journalists	3
Doctors	2
Veterinarians	1
	368
3. Distribution of Members of Parliamen	
according to Sex	
Men	344
Women	24
	368

21-30 years	
31-40	168
41-50	
51-60	
61-70	
71-80	

4. Distribution of Members of Parliament according to Age Group