TANZANIA

Date of the Elections: October 30, 1970

Reason for Elections

These elections were held to renew the first National Assembly, elected after independence in 1965, and which had arrived at the normal expiry of its term.

Characteristics of Parliament

The Tanzanian unicameral Parliament, the National Assembly, comprises a maximum of 217 members, divided up as follows:

- 120 members are elected in constituencies by the continental electorate;
- 15 are co-opted by the Assembly, after being put forward by various national organisations;
- 20 regional commissioners are *ex officio* Deputies.

In addition the President can name up to 62 members, namely:

- 10 Tanzanian citizens;
- less than 32 members of the Zanzibar Revolutionary Council;
- less than 20 Zanzibarians, appointed with the approval of the President of Zanzibar.

Electoral System

All citizens of either sex, aged 18 years and registered on electoral rolls drawn up during the 6 months preceding the election, are entitled to vote.

Those who would have made act of allegiance to a country other than Tanzania, mentally unsound, and those who are under sentence of imprisonment for more than 6 months are ineligible to vote. Voting is not obligatory.

Eligible to stand for election to parliament are those voters aged over 21 and members of the Tanu Party (National African Union of Tanzania). The parliamentary mandate is incompatible with public service.

To be candidate in a constituency, one must be proposed by at least 25 voters of the constituency; the national executive committee of the Tanu Party must in addition approve the declaration of the candidature, that must have been placed with the electoral Commission between the 5th and the 25th day after the dissolution of the previous assembly. The date of this first fixing of candidates must be published at least 7 days before by the electoral Commission.

Tanzania is divided up into 120 electoral constituencies the boundaries of which are fixed by the electoral Commission. In each of these constituencies a deputy is elected by simple plurality of vote.

Should a seat fall vacant during the legislature, a by-election is arranged, if the vacancy takes place more than 6 months before the expiry of the Assembly's mandate.

General Political Considerations and Conduct of the Elections

The electoral campaign started in August 1970, and closed officially on October 29, 1970.

From the 1300 candidates then proposed according to the method describep above, the national executive committee of the Tanu Party retained on September 12, 2 candidates per constituency in 114 constituencies. In the 6 other constituencies, there was only one candidate who was then declared elected, the seat not being contested.

Since the last elections (1965), the electorate has more than doubled, taking into account the lowering to 18 of the minimum voting age. It should be noted that the voters of Zanzibar only voted for the presidential election which took place at the same time as the legislative ones.

Three ministers and ten former deputies were not re-elected. On the other hand, Mr. Derek Bryceson, outgoing Minister of Agriculture and the only European in the Cabinet, was re-elected with a strong majority.

On November 5, Mr. Julius Nyerere, re-elected to the presidency with a strong majority, reshuffled his cabinet and created two new ministries, one for natural resources and tourism and the other for energy and hydraulic development.