TANZANIA

Date of Elections: October 26, 1975

Purpose of Elections

Elections were held for all the popularly chosen members of Parliament on the normal expiry of their term of office.

Characteristics of Parliament

The unicameral Parliament of Tanzania, the National Assembly, is composed of 96 members elected directly by the people for a maximum of 5 years; 35 national members (15 representing national institutions, 20 representing regions) elected by the National Assembly; 62 members appointed by the President of the Republic (32 members of the Zanzibar Revolutionary Council, 20 other qualified Zanzibaris and 10 other Tanzanian citizens); and 25 *ex-officio* members (20 regional secretaries for the regions in Tanganyika, 5 regional commissioners for the regions in Zanzibar). The Interim Constitution of Tanzania (Amendment) Act, 1975, had reduced the number of popularly elected members by 24 and raised the total of national members by 20 since the previous (1970) general elections.*

Electoral System

Every citizen of Tanzania who has attained the age of 18 years is entitled to be registered as a voter. Disqualified for registration, however, are persons owing allegiance to a foreign State, those of unsound mind, and those under sentence of death or imprisonment exceeding six months.

Registers of electors are drawn up within the constituencies during the six months before the elections. Voting is not compulsory.

Any citizen who has attained the age of 21 years and is a member of the country's sole political party (Tanganyika African National Union (TANU) for the mainland and Afro-Shirazi Party (ASP) for Zanzibar) is qualified for election. Besides the grounds for disqualification of electors those for candidates include detention or deportation in excess of six months and undischarged bankruptcy.

• See section Parliamentary Developments, p. 10.

Nomination day in any constituency is scheduled between the 5th and the 25th day after the dissolution of the prevdous Parliament; candidates must be nominated in writing by not less than 25 registered voters of the constituency, and their candidatures must be approved by the National Executive Committee of the Party.

As regards members elected by the National Assembly who represent institutions of a national character, or who are chosen on a regional basis, every national institution, or Regional Development Committee, may nominate up to five members; these names must in turn be submitted for approval to the National Executive Committee of the Party.

The 96 popularly chosen members are elected by simple majority in a like number of constituencies. The ballot paper contains the name, address and symbol of each candidate.

By-elections are held to fill elective seats in Parliament which fall vacant between general elections.

General Political Considerations and Conduct of the Elections

The 1975 legislative elections, combined with those for President of the Republic, were the fourth to be held since Tanzania became independent in 1961.

The two-week campaigns for the 96 constituency seats in the National Assembly had to be conducted under the auspices of the country's sole political party — the Tanganyika African National Union (TANU) on the mainland and the Afro-Shirazi Party (ASP) in Zanzibar. The 180 candidates in contention were called upon to focus their statements on the Party's manifesto without arguing with their rivals. In particular, each candidate was called upon to explain to the voters why he was in a position to help the nation achieve its five-year goals in health, agriculture, education and industrial development.

Over 80% of the electorate participated in the poll as a total of 16 women were elected from among the TANU-ASP candidates. President Julius Nyerere, re-elected for another five-year term, subsequently designated the National Assembly's appointed members while the Assembly itself, during its first session on November 6 to 8, elected the national members. Mr. Rashidi Kawawa remained as Prime Minister.

Tanzania

Statistics

1. Results of the Elections and Distribution of Seats in the National Assembly											
Number of registered voters. Voters. Blank or void ballot papers. Votes in favour of the TANU-ASP	4,557,595(81.71%) 83,327										
T, , " Political Group	Number										
Tanganyika African National Union (TAN Afro-Shirazi Party (ASP)	/										

¹ Popularly elected members.

Public official	s an	d ci	ivil	se	erva	ints	5			110
Farmers										
Army officers.										
Priests										

3. Distribution of Elected Members of Parliament according to Age Orowp

21-30	yea	rs.										.4
31-40												
41-50.												.56
51-60												.14
Over 6	50.	•	•			•	•	•		•	•	.4
												131