## UNITED REPUBLIC OF TANZANIA

Date of Elections: 26 October 1980

# Purpose of Elections

Elections were held for all the 111 popularly-chosen members of Parliament on the normal expiry of their term of office.

### Characteristics of Parliament

The unicameral Parliament of the United Republic of Tanzania, the National Assembly, is composed of directly elected, indirectly elected, nominated and *ex-officio* members. Of the current overall total of 239, 111 (101 from the mainland and 10 from Zanzibar) are directly elected for a maximum of 5 years; 40 (25 regional members—20 from the mainland and 5 from Zanzibar—and 15 representing statutory bodies) are national members elected by the National Assembly; 62 are nominated or appointed (32 appointed by the Zanzibar Revolutionary Council, 30 presidential nominees (20 from Zanzibar and 10 from the mainland)); and 25 regional commissioners are *ex-officio* members of the Assembly. The Vice-President of the Republic is for his part an *ex-officio* member.

# **Electoral System**

Every citizen of Tanzania who has attained the age of 18 years is entitled to be registered as a voter. Disqualified from registration, however, are persons owing allegiance to a foreign State, those of unsound mind, and those under sentence of death or imprisonment exceeding six months.

Registers of electors are drawn up within the constituencies during the six months before the elections. Voting is not compulsory.

Any citizen who has attained the age of 21 years and is a member of the country's sole political party (CCM-the Revolutionary Party of Tanzania) is qualified for election. Besides the grounds for disqualification of electors, those for candidates include detention or deportation in excess of six months and undischarged bankruptcy.

Nomination day in any constituency is scheduled between the 5th and the 25th day after the dissolution of the previous Parliament; candidates must be nominated in writing by not less than 25 registered voters of the constituency, and their candidatures must be approved by the National Executive Committee of the Party.

As regards members elected by the National Assembly who represent institutions of a national character, or who are chosen on a regional basis, every national institution, or Regional Development Committee, may nominate up to five members; these names must in turn be submitted for approval to the National Executive Committee of the Party.

The 111 popularly-chosen members are elected by simple majority in a like number of constituencies.

By-elections are held to fill elective seats in Parliament which fall vacant between general elections.

## General Considerations and Conduct of the Elections

As is customary in Tanzania, the 1980 legislative elections were held simultaneously with those for President of the Republic.

Of the 111 constituency seats, 109 were contested by two candidates each, unopposed candidates being fielded in the remaining two. All were nominated by 22 August 1980 and all belonged to the country's sole political party—the Revolutionary Party of Tanzania (*Chama Cha Mapinduzi-CCM*).

On polling day, approximately half of the incumbent members, including one Cabinet Minister and two Deputy Ministers, lost their seats in an outcome that was generally interpreted as reflecting public concern over the country's economic problems. President Julius Nyerere, re-elected for another five-year term, was sworn in on 5 November and announced his new Cabinet two days later. The new Prime Minister is Mr. Cleopa Msuya.

### Statistics

1. Results of the Elections and Distribution of Seats of Directly-Elected Members in the National Assembly

Number of registered electors	6,604,408
Voters	5,594,342 (84.7%)
Blank or void ballot papers .	177,243
Valid votes	5,417,099

Political Group	of Seats
Revolutionary Party of Tanzania (CCM)	I11

233\*

# 2. Distribution of Members of Parliament according to Professional Category

Civil servants	18 17
23	33*
3. Distribution of Members of Parliament according to Se	ex
Men	10 23
23	33*
4. Distribution of Members of Parliament according to Age Group	
21-35 years.  2    36-55.  .19    56 and above.	

<sup>\*</sup> No data available as to remaining six members.