UNITED REPUBLIC OF TANZANIA

Date of Elections: 27 October 1985

Purpose of Elections

Elections were held for the 169 popularly-chosen members of Parliament on the normal expiry of their term of office.

Characteristics of Parliament

The unicameral Parliament of the United Republic of Tanzania, the National Assembly, is composed of directly elected, indirectly elected, nominated and *ex-officio* members. Of the current overall total of 244, 169 are directly elected for a maximum of 5 years, 15 are "national members" elected by the National Assembly from candidates recommended by mass organizations affiliated to the country's sole ruling party, 5 are members elected by the Zanzibar House of Representatives, 15 are presidential nominees and 25 are *ex-officio* members (regional commissioners). There are in addition 15 seats reserved for women; candidates for these are recommended by the Women's League and elected by the National Assembly.

Electoral System

Every citizen of Tanzania who has attained the age of 18 years is entitled to be registered as a voter. Disqualified from registration, however, are persons owing allegiance to a foreign State, those of unsound mind, and those under sentence of death or imprisonment exceeding six months.

Registers of electors are drawn up within the constituencies during the six months before the elections. Voting is not compulsory.

Any citizen who has attained the age of 21 years and is a member of the country's sole political party (CCM - the Revolutionary Party of Tanzania) is qualified for election. Besides the grounds for disqualification of electors, those for candidates include detention or deportation in excess of six months and undischarged bankruptcy.

Nomination day in any constituency is scheduled between the 5th and the 25th day after the dissolution of the previous Parliament; candidates must be nominated in writing by not less than 25 registered voters of the constituency, and their candidatures must be approved by the National Executive Committee of the Party.

As regards members elected by the National Assembly who represent institutions of a national character, or who are chosen on a regional basis, every national institution, or Regional Development Committee, may nominate up to five members; these names must in turn be submitted for approval to the National Executive Committee of the Party.

The 169 popularly-chosen members are elected by simple majority in a like number of constituencies.

By-elections are held to fill elective seats in Parliament which fall vacant between general elections.

General Considerations and Conduct of the Elections

As is customary in Tanzania, the 1985 legislative elections were held simultaneously with those for President of the Republic. For the presidency, the sole candidate was Mr. Ali Hassan Mwinyi, the hand-picked successor of retiring President Julius K. Nyerere, who had led Tanzania to independence in 1961. Mr. Mwinyi had been designated at a special conference of the ruling Revolutionary Party of Tanzania (*Chama Cha Mapinduzi* - CCM) on 15 August 1985; like his predecessor, he was a committed socialist.

For the newly-enlarged National Assembly's 169 directly-elected seats, the CCM - Tanzania's only legal political party - nominated 328 candidates. All of these were overwhelmingly supported by the electorate on polling day. Mr. Mwinyi himself obtained over 92% of the vote. On 5 November, he named Mr. Joseph Warioba as Prime Minister; his Cabinet was announced the following day.

Statistics

1. Distribution of Seats in the National Assembly

p	,,					Number of Candidates	
CCM						328	169

^{*} Direcily-elected members only.