TOGO

Date of Elections: 24 March 1985

Purpose of Elections

Elections were held for all the seats in Parliament on the normal expiry of the members' term of office.

Characteristics of Parliament

The unicameral Parliament of Togo, the National Assembly, comprises 77 Deputies* elected for 5 years.

Electoral System

All Togolese citizens who are at least 18 years of age and in full possession of their civil and political rights are entitled to vote.

All qualified electors who are at least 25 years of age and not under guardianship, who can read and write French or one of Togo's two national languages, and who have resided in the country for at least two years are eligible for election as Deputies. The residence requirement does not apply to certain citizens who have been abroad for study, training, special mission or public employment purposes.

The office of parliamentarian is incompatible with the post of Minister, President of the Supreme Court and certain other public functions.

Candidates for Parliament are all nominated by the *Rassemblement du peuple togolais* (RPT) the country's only political organization; the list of candidates must be submitted to the Ministry of the Interior at the latest 15 days prior to the polling date. Each candidate must deposit a sum of CFA 50,000, which is reimbursed if he gains at least 10% of the votes expressed. All Deputies are elected by majority vote party-list system.

Substitutes elected at the same time as titular members fill vacancies which arise between general elections.

General Considerations and Conduct of the Elections

The election date was set by presidential decree on 15 February 1985.

All National Assembly candidates belonged to the *Rassemblement du peuple togolais* (**RPT**), the country's sole legal party. However, as opposed to the previous polling when a

Chron. XIX (1984-1985)

single **RPT** list had ben proposed to the electorate, multiple candidatures characterised the 1985 elections. Altogether, 216 candidates stood for the enlarged Assembly's 77 seats. Twenty-two alternate Deputies were simultaneously to be chosen.

The election campaign lasted from 9 to 22 March and was based on the themes of unity and national solidarity; it was disrupted by several outbreaks of violence between supporters of rival candidates. Polling day was marked by a high voter turnout. Of the incumbents (many of whom did not run), only 20 were re-elected. The new Assembly, which first met on 6 May, was characterized by its younger membership.

Statistics

1. Results of the Elections and Distribution of Seats in the National Assembly

| | | - | | | | | | | | | | | | | | 1,318,979 | (78 620%) |
|---------|-----|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|------------|-----------|
| voters. | ••• | • | • | • | • | · | • | • | • | • | • | • | • | • | • | .1,036,975 | (78.02%) |
| | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | c | NT 1 | |

| Political Group | | Number of " | of Seats | | | | |
|--|---|----------------|----------|--|--|--|--|
| Rassemblement du peuple togolais (RPT) | | 216 | 77 | | | | |
| (1017) | • | | ,, | | | | |

2. Distribution of Members of the National Assembly according to Sex

| Men | • | | | | | | | | .73 |
|--------|---|--|--|--|--|--|--|--|-----|
| Women. | | | | | | | | | 4 |
| | | | | | | | | | 77 |