TONGA

Report on the general elections of 7 May 1984

Date of Elections: 7 May 1984

Purpose of Elections

Elections were held for all the seats in Parliament on the normal expiry of the members' term of office.

Characteristics of Parliament

The unicameral Parliament of Tonga, the Legislative Assembly, comprises 29 members: the King, the Privy Council (eight Ministers and two Governors), 9 hereditary nobles elected by their peers and 9 representatives who are popularly elected. Elected members hold office for 3 years.

Electoral System

All literate citizens of Tonga who are at least 21 years of age are entitled to vote for popularly-chosen members. Male electors must in addition not be nobles. Disqualified from voting are the insane and persons under summons for debt.

Qualified electors who are not in debt for a larger amount than is allowed by law may be chosen as representatives of the people. The parliamentary mandate is incompatible with all offices of emolument under the Crown except those of Minister, Chief Justice, Governor and Mayor.

As mentioned above, parliamentarians include nine nobles chosen by the nobles of the Kingdom and nine representatives of the people. The Legislative Assembly determines how both classes of representatives are apportioned among the various districts.

The Speaker of the Assembly is appointed by the King.

Upon the death or resignation of any representative of the nobles or the people, the Speaker orders the nobles or electors of the district which he represented to elect a representative in his place.

General Considerations and Conduct of the Elections

Tonga, a constitutional monarchy, achieved full independence within the British Commonwealth in June 1970. Elections to the Assembly were previously held in May 1981.

There are no political parties in the country. A unique feature of the legislative system is that the Privy Council, or Cabinet, members sit *ex-ojficio* in Parliament. The Prime Minister is Prince Fatafefi Tu'ipelehake, the brother of King Taufa'ahau Tupou IV.

Statistics

2.	Distribution	of Members	of the	Legislative	Assembly					
according to Sex										

Men										29
Women										
										29